Health Information Resources for Developing Countries

Scholarly publishers and global organizations offer scientists and medical personnel in developing countries discounted or free access to online scientific and biomedical journals.

FHI360-SATELLIFE Health Information and Technology includes Essential Health Links, a resource that provides more than 750 useful websites for health professionals, medical library communities, publishers, and NGOs in developing and emerging countries.

BioMedCentral's Open Access in the Developing World : This website draws together the latest news and resources relating to open access and the developing world, and highlights the most relevant peer-reviewed research from BioMed Central's open access journals.

eGranary Digital Library (Internet in a box): Not a free resource but uses a plug-and-play server that provides instant access to millions of digital documents without the need of connection to the Internet. 

EIFL-Licensing: Through central negotiation with publishers, EIFL negotiates highly discounted prices and fair terms of use to increase access to scholarly material which is essential for research and education.

Free Access to Developing Economies offers free online journal access, based on programs such as HINARI or AGORA, and a HighWire-based program for countries appearing in the World Bank's list of "low income economies," plus Angola, Armenia, Azerbaijan, Djibouti, Georgia, Indonesia, Turkmenistan, and Ukraine.

Several useful collections not included in the Open Science Directory

• AJOL African Journals Online: Graduated fees by country
• Evidence-Based Practice for Public Health (EBBPH) provides links to freely available public health journals Coordinated by the University of Massachusetts Medical School with input from public health librarians around the country
• Free Medical Journals compiled by Amedeo
• Lancet Series highlight clinically important topics and areas of health, often related to global health issues
• NLM PubMed FAQ: How to Get the Journal Article

A few examples of subject portals that lead to a variety of materials:

• Facts for Life
• HIV / AIDS Information   Specialized Information Services, National Library of Medicine
• Multilateral Initiative on Malaria Communications Network (MIMCom) Research Resources NLM & others

• AHRQ produces and shares documents to improve health care
• Medscape Reference is a comprehensive compendium about diseases
• FreeBooks4Doctors from Amedeo indexes available electronic books
• Google Books allows you to indicate that you want a search for full text
• HINARI  books for eligible institutions.
• Medecins Sans Frontieres Reference Books provides full-text reference books on essential drugs, refugee health, tuberculosis, clinical guidelines, meningogoccal meningitis, and obstetrics in remote settings.
• MedlinePlus from the National Library of Medicine provides access to an encyclopedia, dictionary, formulary, online health tutorials and films of procedures, and links to the websites of trusted partners
• Medical Student lists books useful to students
• Merck Manuals Online Medical Library  electronic version of The Merck Manual of Diagnosis and Therapy
• National Academies Press provides their materials as free full text
• NCBI Bookshelf 700+ full-text biomedical books from NLM
• UpToDate comprehensive online clinical textbook. One-year complimentary subscriptions to qualifying clinicians and organizations who deliver medical care or related services, including medical education, to poor or underserved populations outside the US.
• WHO search for books, journal articles, and grey literature, downloadable and free of charge. Note that the materials are copyrighted.
• WHO Medicines Publications
• WHO Pocket Book of Hospital Care for Children clinical guidelines available in multiple languages.