Collections refers to the electronic and print resources the library provides its users (e.g., ebooks, ejournals, databases, reports, videos, 3D models, etc.) in support of teaching, learning, and research.

• Contact
  Email the Collection & Research Services Librarian, Leslie Gascon, regarding library collections.

Purchase & Reserve Requests

Please note: Due to budget limitations and what publishers make available to libraries, the Health Sciences Library cannot purchase nor subscribe to every recommended purchase or reserve request. We will respond to your request, submitted via one of these forms, within two weeks. Please allow for processing time of your request.

Course Reserve Requests

Use these forms for required course materials whether or not the library owns the resource already.

Purchase Requests

Use this form if the library does not own the resource AND the resource is not for course reserves. If the library does not own the resource and it is for course reserves, use a Course Reserve Request form above instead.

Resources Available Now

Gifts & Donations

Contact

• Email the Health Sciences Library (HSL) Collections Librarian
  Contact Leslie Gascon, Collection & Research Services Librarian, regarding HSL Collections.

Accessibility Progress at the Libraries

Learn about ongoing and completed projects, including the Libraries' E-Resources Accessibility Testing. 

Building Accessibility 

Learn about accessible entrances and bathrooms and inaccessible locations across the Libraries, including the Health Sciences Library, via the Library Building Accessibility webpage. 

Accessibility Kits

Learn more about accessibility items available to checkout at the Health Sciences Library (view the Technology tab). Each library location has an accessibility kit (excluding Gallagher Law Library and Friday Harbor Library) containing the following items for on-site use. Ask at the Information Desk for further details.

Items available for checkout:

• Trackball Mouse: Trackball mice are highly useful tools for those with dexterity and fine motor skill impairments, including carpal tunnel syndrome or arthritis. This mouse allows people to use differing or fewer muscles in their hands and wrists.
• Pocket-Hearing Loop: This small personal amplifier is for one-on-one communications, and can be used at a service desk, when walking with a person to the stacks, or in a library classroom. Pocket loops are like a "focused headset".
• Lapboard: Lapboards can be placed on the lap or across the arms of a wheelchair or mobility scooter. Lapboards effectively provide a desktop space for a mouse and keyboard (or laptop) while improving reach and comfort for individuals with whom using a standard desk is impractical.
• High-Contrast Large Type Keyboard: The large type and high contrast of these keyboards assist individuals with low vision by reducing eye strain. These keyboards also make typing easier for those with limited fine motor skills by eliminating multi-function keys. Note: Due to funding, the High-Contrast Large Type Keyboards are currently available only at UW Tacoma, UW Bothell/Cascadia College, Health Sciences Library, Odegaard Undergraduate Library and Suzzallo and Allen Libraries.

Items available without checkout:

• Magnifier Bars: Magnifier bars can be used by those with low vision to enhance the size of text and reduce eye strain caused by small print.
• Disposable Noise-Reduction Earplugs: Disposable earplugs are useful for those with cognitive or learning disabilities. Earplugs allow for more focused concentration in spaces with additional noise. Available until supply runs out.

Pressbooks

The Accessibility Working Group's e-Publishing Platforms Team has created a resource to help all authors of publications using UW Libraries Pressbooks. This guide is intended to help UW instructors, students and staff create more accessible books using UW Libraries Pressbooks. It covers heading structure, links, color contrast, captions, alt-text and document types. For UW Libraries employees creating Pressbooks books, or supporting those who do, this will help ensure these resources are accessible.

Accessibility for Instructors

• Accessible Instructional Materials 
  Disability Resources for Students (DRS) helps instructors meet the needs of their students.