December 2023

ATLAS.ti Training

• Friday, December 1, 2023, at 10 a.m.-3 p.m. 
• In person in Suzzallo Library 
• Registration required 

QUAL offers one workshop each quarter to train researchers in ATLAS.ti, a computer-assisted QDA tool for analyzing textual, graphical, audio and video data. In partnership with the Open Scholarship Commons (OSC), this workshop will build skills in ATLAS.ti basics.

Attendees are welcome to come with their own device loaded with Atlas.ti 23 (subscription software or free trial) or they may use one of our OSC laptops with the software preloaded. No previous Atlas.ti experience is necessary to attend the workshop.

---

November 2023

ORCID Workshop for Researchers

• Thursday, November 16, 2023, at 10-11:00 a.m.
• Online via Zoom
• Register here to attend

Getting and using your free ORCID iD and ORCID record can help you save time and get credit for your work in funding, publishing, and research reporting workflows. Funding organizations, publishers, and research institutions are increasingly requiring or asking for ORCID iDs from researchers, so this online workshop will help you make sure you are ahead of the game. We will cover:

• An overview of the benefits of ORCID for researchers
• How ORCID can help you save time throughout the research landscape
• Tips and tricks for keeping your ORCID record up-to-date

This is especially relevant to anyone who is or will be seeking grant funding from US federal agencies, as ORCID is being included in federal agencies’ funding policies due to the National Security Presidential Memo 33 (NSPM-33). No prior experience with ORCID necessary. The session recording will be sent to all who register. Please note that while UW Libraries offers ORCID services, this workshop is led by the UW ORCID Community.

---

June 2023

Upcoming ITHS Courses

Engaging Communities in Interdisciplinary Research

June 1, 2023 @ 12:00 pm – 1:00 pm PDT 

Online Zoom Event Registration and Info

This event is the 10th and final session in the monthly Team Science Seminar Series. This session will focus on community engagement in interdisciplinary research teams. Participants will learn about community engagement and its importance in interdisciplinary and translational research, as well as strategies for participants to increase community engagement in their research. 

---

How to Write a K-Award Application to Maximize Funding

June 15, 2023 @ 12:00 pm – 1:30 pm PDT 

Online Zoom Event Registration and Info

Thinking about applying for a K award? Wondering how to put together the most competitive application? NIH Research Career Development Awards (K awards) promote career development and provide support for senior postdoctoral fellows or faculty-level candidates. In this ITHS event, Drs. John Amory and Christy McKinney, current Directors of the ITHS KL2 program, will provide an overview of the different types of K awards, and will discuss how to write competitive K award applications.

---

UW Libraries June Update

While the academic year may be coming to an end, the Libraries still has a lot of news to share with your departments! See the UW Libraries June Update for important information and great stories including:

• Faculty Alert: Impact to Libraries Purchasing During UW Finance Transformation
• A preview of the new physical space for the Open Scholarship Commons (coming in Fall 2023)! 
• Pride Month – an excellent list of archives, media and more
• New Book- Our Voices: A Guide to Citing Personal Experience and Interviews in Research 
• Important instructions/reminders for grads
• And more!

Read the full June 2023 update.

---

May 2023

UW Libraries May Update

UW Libraries May Update has some important announcements and over 20 free learning workshops and events for students and faculty including:

• Choose Privacy Week events (this week!)
• The Economist.com -  now available from UW Libraries!
• UW Seattle Faculty, PhD students and postdoctoral researchers – UW Libraries surveys due May 8th.
• Undergrad Research Symposium – May 19th
• Research Communication and Equity Fellowship Celebration and Student Showcase– May 16
• The 6th Annual GIS Symposium – May 25th
• Odegaard Library will extend hours leading up to and through finals week.
• UW Press Sale- 40% off through June 16th (great gifts for “grads and dads”)
• Graduate Funding Information Service – drop-in hours are back!
• And much more!

Read the full update.

---

Using and Adapting Free Course Materials

Course for UW instructors on May 9, 2023, @ 12-1 p.m. Pacific 

Online Zoom Event Registration and Info 

Teaching with Open Educational Resources (OER) reduces costs for students and provides you with more flexibility for adapting materials to suit your teaching needs. In this interactive workshop, Lauren Ray, UW Open Education Librarian, will share strategies for finding and adapting OER for your class. You’ll have a chance to explore OER search tools, see examples of openly licensed course materials in your discipline, and learn about UW Libraries resources for creating and modifying OER for your class. 

---

Upcoming ITHS Course

Designing and Conducting Research for Health Equity

May 4, 2023 @ 12:00 pm – 1:00 pm PDT 

Online Zoom Event Registration and Info

In this 9th session of the Team Science Seminar Series, you will learn strategies to ensure that your research studies are designed to have a positive impact on health equity. These include careful and collaborative design of interventions, as well as thoughtful partnership with communities. You will also gain an understanding of how research can contribute to or maintain existing disparities, or reduce disparities.

---

April 2023

Introducing Our New Public Health Librarian, Leah DeSantis

Leah DeSantis, MLIS, is the new Public Health & Research Services Librarian of the UW Health Sciences Library! 

After earning her Master of Library & Information Science (MLIS) in 2021, Leah led the successful launch of the UW's Li Lu Library, supported the School of Pharmacy for the past year, and has shadowed library classes and consultations for public health faculty, staff, students, and researchers. You're in good hands! 

Please feel free to email or schedule a meeting with Leah to discuss how she can support your and your students’ research success at the School of Public Health!

Leslie Gascon (former Public Health & Collection Librarian) shared that, "Working with the School of Public Health throughout the past two years has been a joy!" Leslie is looking forward to continuing to support the UW's six health sciences schools and two medical centers through the Health Sciences Library's collections as the Collection & Research Services Librarian. 

---

March 2023

Book Reserve Requests Needed by March 24, 2023

Due to the constraints imposed by University of Washington Financial Transformation (UWFT), the library is limited in its ability to purchase textbooks for course reserves from March 25, 2023 through September 30, 2023. This includes purchases related to required course materials for:

• Spring 2023
• Summer 2023 (Full-term, A Term, B Term) 

While the UW Health Sciences Library will continue to attempt purchases, we cannot guarantee their delivery in time for any of the quarters listed above.

In order to make sure required course reserve textbooks are available for students, please submit any course reserve requests by March 24th. Please complete the streaming media course reserve request form if requesting a video for your course. 

For those faculty unable to provide these details, the Health Sciences Library highly recommends contributing a temporary personal copy of the texts to course reserves so that the Library can help meet students’ needs. You can bring in your own copy of the textbook to the 3rd floor Information Desk of the Health Sciences Library during library hours.  

Please also continue to submit your required texts each quarter to the Bookstore, as many of your students rely on their information to order textbooks.

Another option to consider is choosing to create or use an Open Educational Resource for future courses’ required texts in an effort to make the educational experience for our students more equitable. Creating a way for students to access their course information online for free reduces stress for students and reduces barriers to their success. You would also not be limited by the libraries’ ordering limitations at this time. If this would help you and your students, review this guide to Open Educational Resources.

If you have any questions, please feel free to reach out to hslres@uw.edu or your subject librarian for further assistance.

---

UW Libraries March Update

Includes

• Tips for finals week, 
• Access to the Financial Times, 
• Women's History Month exhibits,
• and more! 

---

January 2023

Info Session: Data Science for the Social Good

On Tuesday, January 17, 2023, at 1-2 p.m. Pacific, join fellow graduate students and learn more about Hacking the Academy: Data Science for Social Good (DSSG). Register for the info session and learn more about the program here. 

---

UW Libraries Research Communication and Equity Fellow Applications Open

Background

Apply to become a UW Libraries Research Communication and Equity Fellow! This program is aimed at Black, Indigenous, and People of Color (BIPOC) graduate students who want to share their research or other academic work. Fellows will be asked to create a physical artifact that visually communicates their research. The artifact can take many forms: poster, artwork, visualization, etc. All artifacts will be exhibited physically in the UW Libraries Research Commons, and there will be an in-person reception for Fellows in the Research Commons in Spring 2023 (with accommodations for Fellows who are unable to attend in person). Fellows will also be asked to participate in an interview with the Fellowship Team that will become the basis for a blog post and creator’s statement to accompany the physical exhibit. Participating will enable fellows to raise the visibility of their work on campus, form networks with other students, and develop skills for communicating research in public formats.

The Research Commons is a space for interdisciplinary, innovative, and collaborative student work. Components of this ethos, along with the UW Libraries’ strategic goals around advancing research for the public good and creating equitable environments, will inform the Fellowship selection process. The criteria will favor interdisciplinary and collaborative work, open work (for example, open access publishing or projects with public scholarship components), and digital scholarship methodologies/tools (for example, data analysis, mapping platforms, or digital humanities work).

Any UW graduate student of color is welcome to apply! This opportunity is open to graduate students at all three campuses, including online students, Masters students, and PhD students. This project is funded by a Friends of the Libraries award. 

Compensation and hours

Fellows will receive a $500 fellowship award into their student account and will be invited to attend a reception at the end of the fellowship. While this fellowship will begin Winter 2023 and will last through Spring 2023, over the course of the entire period we expect Fellows will spend approximately 5-10 hours on their individual project, 1-2 hours at the reception, and 3-4 hours checking in for a total of about 9-16 hours of labor. 

Application requirements

• Application deadline: Sunday, January 8th 2023 at 11:59 PM
• Application form 
• Statement of interest (300 word maximum) that includes: 
  • Brief description of your research or other academic work
  • Description of your proposed research artifact
  • Description of how your work meets some of the following selection criteria. Note that successful projects are NOT required or expected to speak to all criteria. 
    • Interdisciplinary or collaborative
    • Open or publicly-engaged work
    • Digital scholarship methodologies or tools

Selection criteria

• Intended for BIPOC graduate students
• Open to all disciplines and types of graduate study 
• Includes description of proposed research artifact
• Proposed project exemplifies interdisciplinary or collaborative work 
• Proposed project uses open and/or digital scholarship methodologies/tools
• Description of research or academic work and proposed research artifact is clear and can be completed within the given timeframe (approximately 5-10 hours of work).

Have questions? 

If you have any questions about your eligibility, the application materials, or the process, please contact Negeen Aghassibake (she/her), Data Visualization Librarian, at negeena@uw.edu. 

---

UW Libraries Joins Dryad

January 23, 2023 -- UW Libraries is pleased to announce its official membership with the generalist data repository Dryad, an open data publishing platform and development community. The Dryad Data Platform is a curated resource that makes research data discoverable, freely reusable, and citable. Dryad provides a general-purpose home for a wide diversity of data types and now counts over 75 institutions and publishers in its membership.  A library research guide for Dryad is available with information on how UW researchers can get started with the service.

Dryad is the first open data publishing platform available to UW users. It will serve as a companion to UW Libraries ResearchWorks, which is best for texts and some small data sets. As a generalist repository, Dryad accepts data regardless of data type, format, content, or disciplinary focus.

The UW Libraries implementation of Dryad aligns with the increasing advocacy of public research universities to provide for the open sharing of research data and outputs. This announcement also comes at the heels of the National Health Institute’s new data management and sharing policy which went into effect January 23rd.  Dryad is one of the Generalist Repositories recommended by the National Institutes of Health.

Because UW Libraries is covering the full cost membership, UW users will not have to pay a fee to deposit data in Dryad.

For more information visit the Dryad Library Research Guide on UW Libraries website, or contact Jenny Muilenburg, Research Data Services Librarian. 

December 2022

Fall and Winter Library Hours

• Health Sciences Library hours, including holiday hours.
• See all UW Libraries' hours.

---

UW Libraries December Update

Includes 

• Operational updates 
• Elsevier subscription review 
• Book sale 
• Accessibility updates 
• Workshops and more

Read the full update!

---

November 2022

Proximity Searching in PubMed 

The National Library of Medicine announced proximity search capabilities have been added to PubMed. Users can now search for multiple terms appearing in any order within a specified distance of one another in the [Title] or [Title/Abstract] fields.

UW Global Month

During the month of November, UW Office of Global Affairs highlights the connections and relationships the UW has all over the world and the impact of our University’s global engagement.

• Learn more about UW Global Month events.
• Compete in the Global Campus Photo Contest! 
  • Deadline: November 30, 2022 at 5:00 p.m. Pacific Time

---

October 2022

Open Access Week 2022: Open for Climate Justice

October 24-30

Learn more about events held throughout Open Access Week.

---

Doctors & Distillers with author Camper English

Thursday, October 27, at 9-10 a.m. Pacific. Register here.

UW Health Sciences Library is hosting a free live webinar with author Camper English to talk about his latest book, Doctors and Distillers: The Remarkable Medicinal History of Beer, Wine, Spirits, and Cocktails. Camper English will reveal “how and why the contents of our medicine and liquor cabinets were, until surprisingly recently, one and the same.”

The author talk webinar will discuss the intertwining history of alcohol and medicine, from ancient Greece to today. Subjects will include histories of particular spirits, distillation methods and what those discoveries meant for the evolution of medicine, and common uses for beer, wine, and spirits both recreationally and medicinally.

A UW NetID is required to attend.

This event is supported by the Jack McLean Snyder Health Sciences Library Endowment; make a gift for future programs.

Learn more about the event.

---

Podcasting Workshop Call for Applicants 

Are you a graduate student engaged in academic or professional work that you wish you could communicate to a broader audience? Interested in building your resume while learning how to tell compelling stories about meaningful topics? Curious about what you can do with a podcast? 
 
If yes: the UW Libraries invites you to apply for Storytelling Fellows! This is an innovative, hands-on program designed to highlight the interests and accomplishments of UW graduate students, using digital-storytelling skills and technologies. This totally free, four-week online program will take accepted fellows through the start-to-finish process of envisioning and creating a podcast suitable for an online portfolio, professional presentation, or academic project. 
 
Folks who have participated in past Storytelling Fellows programs have created digital stories for the following reasons:  

• To make digital streaming content for websites 
• To communicate their work either to professional or public audiences 
• To learn a creative, emergent form they’ll use in their teaching 
• To learn a skill they can highlight on the job market and employ in their careers 
• To tell stories that have never been told and never will be unless they do it 
• To have pure fun 

Storytelling Fellows Course Details: 

• The course will run from November 1, 2022 – November 22, 2022. 
• There will be four live Tuesday sessions hosted via Zoom from 3-5pm on November 1, 8, 15, and 22. These sessions are mandatory. 
• Finishing a 2-5 minute podcast (or a podcast of any length) is mandatory. 

Take a look at the syllabus for more information. 

No previous experience with media-making is necessary.  
Really, the only requirement is a desire to be creative, to finish a project of your own design,  and to interact with other graduate students across disciplines. 

Register by October 25, 2022. 

---

September 2022

Li Lu Library Opens

The Li Lu Library opened on Tuesday, September 6th! Add to your calendar!

This new interprofessional health sciences library is located on the 3rd floor of the new Health Sciences Education Building (HSEB) at 1607 NE Pacific Street, and is open 8 a.m. - 5 p.m. A Husky card is required to gain access to the building.

Library staff will be available to assist UW students and faculty 10 a.m. - 2 p.m. Monday through Friday. If you have questions about accessing resources outside of these hours, give us a call at 206-685-3940 or email lilulibrary@uw.edu.

Work and study spaces within the library are named after Pacific Northwest Trees, including the Red Alder High Top Collaboration Space, Western Hemlock Technology & Learning Center, Ponderosa Pine Study Area, Cedar Lounge, and Douglas Fir Quiet Area. The service point for help with collection access and IT questions is the Research Help and Information Desk.

Grand opening will be on Wednesday, September 28

Save the date! The grand opening for UW faculty, staff, and students will be on Wednesday, September 28th from 10 a.m. to 1 p.m.

---

Webinar: Drawing Us Together

Public Life and Public Health in Contemporary Comics

September 22, 2022, at 1 p.m. Pacific 

In this opening discussion for the exhibition Drawing Us Together: Public Life and Public Health in Contemporary Comics, cartoonists and scholars Hillary Chute, Joel Christian Gill, and James Sturm will discuss comics and their ability to tell stories across time, experience, and identity.

The global pandemic and recent movements for racial justice have tested public and private institutions in this country; our sense of collective wellbeing; and familial, social, and civic lives. Drawing Us Together: Public Life and Public Health in Contemporary Comics explores these challenges and the interconnectedness of contemporary public life and public health through the medium of comics. Authors and artists share a range of stories across time, experience, and identity through the interplay among images and words.

Register for the Harvard Radcliffe Institute webinar.

---

Covidence Demonstration

Do you have questions about how to use Covidence to support your research teams? Then please join us for our upcoming webinar with Covidence at 9:00 a.m. (PDT) on Wednesday, September 21st, 2022. 

This session includes a live demo providing an overview of the systematic review workflow and showcases some of Covidence's most popular features. You’ll learn how Covidence supports research teams to streamline and collaborate on systematic and literature reviews, as well as have the opportunity to get your specific questions answered.

Join meeting on September 21st at 9 a.m. Pacific, no login required, and you do not need to set up a Covidence account before the session. We hope to see you there!

---

August 2022

How to Choose a Research Topic

Wednesday, August 17, 2022 at 11:00-11:30 PST

Selecting a research topic that is interesting, relevant, and doable can be challenging for all levels of researchers. Many of those new to developing research ideas tend to select topics that are too narrow or too broad or would be too complex to undertake in a reasonable amount of time. Attend this Scholarly Snippets session to learn how to identify a research topic that interests you and can easily be translated into a manageable project. 

Presented by: Molly Montgomery, MLS, MS, Idaho College of Osteopathic Medicine

Register here

---

Effective Searching Techniques: MeSH

Wednesday, August 24, 2022 at 9:00-9:30 PST

Are you interested in learning how to more effectively search? This session will introduce MeSH (Medical Subject Headings): what they are and how to use them to better search in PubMed.

Presented by: Meghan Di Rito, MLIS, PCOM Georgia

Register here

---

Graduate Student Research Institute (GSRI)

Registration.

The Graduate Student Research Institute (GSRI) is a free and asynchronous multi-day online workshop offered by the UW libraries. It offers new and returning UW graduate students the tools and strategies they need to research smarter, not harder.  The workshop focuses on antiracism and centering Black, Indigenous and Student of Color (BIPOC) experiences in academia. BIPOC graduate student experiences, advice and resources are included throughout the institute, with affiliate-spaces for BIPOC students and staff mentors to engage together in community.

The bulk of the content will be in Canvas, and participants can choose to engage in Slack, with customized support from UW librarians and other qualified experts in their subject areas.

GSRI can help you to:

• Learn skills and strategies for effective academic research
• Become familiar with core tools and resources for research productivity
• Connect with relevant support units across the UW campuses
• Build community with other UW students and campus support staff

There are two online, asynchronous sessions of GSRI being offered in Summer 2022:

• Session A: August 22-26, 2022 (registration closes Aug 15)
• Session B: September 12-16, 2022 (registration closes Sep 5)

Participation FAQs:

• GSRI learning takes place over 5 days with no fixed participation times (asynchronous). There will be optional synchronous Zoom sessions to participate in.
• GSRI requires daily engagement in the form of small activities and Slack discussions. We recommend you reserve one hour per day to complete the GSRI curriculum.
• GSRI is a free, online, not-for-credit experience. All UW graduate students are welcome.

For questions, email: libraries-gsri@u.washington.edu.

Register online today.

---

June 2022 

UW Libraries Search System Upgrade June 2022

Libraries Closed June 13th for Software Update. Learn more about setting up permalinks and saved favorites. 

Libraries to Replace Nexis Uni with Westlaw Campus Research

UW Libraries is replacing Nexis Uni with Westlaw Campus Research. Access to Nexis Uni will end on June 30, 2022. Learn more about the transition to Westlaw Campus Research.

---

May 2022 

Citation Management Tools Workshop

Register for the Citation Management Tools Workshop. 

Course description

Are you a graduate student doing research? Do you want to be more organized in your research workflow? Do you have many sources you want to save, organize and share? Are you interested in using citation management tools to help you keep track of everything floating around in Google Drive? If so, join us for the Citation Management Tools Workshop! 

Course spans Monday, May 16 through Friday, May 20, 2022, tools covered are Zotero, Mendeley, and EndNote Basic (not Desktop). Course is held on Canvas and Slack.

---

Undergraduate Library Research Award: Turn your research into money! 

Undergraduates: Apply for a $500-$1,000 research award in the creation of a course project! Groups and individuals may apply! Open to undergraduates on all three campuses. 

The award is given to undergraduates who demonstrate outstanding ability to identify, locate, select, evaluate, and synthesize library and other information resources and to use them in the creation of an original course project. Applications due: May 2, 2022 at 11:59 PM PST. 

How to apply and eligibility requirements.

---

Academic Surveillance and the Big Data Economy

Join the UW Libraries for Academic Surveillance and the Big Data Economy, a virtual event on May 3, 2022 at 9:30 am Pacific as part of the American Library Association’s national Choose Privacy Week celebration.

Surveillance of students, researchers, and their work is prevalent not only on social media, but also on other online platforms that are integral to academic success. Platforms like research databases gather data from users, often without making clear the purpose behind collecting this information or the practices in place to keep the data safe. This data creates a detailed record of research agendas and learning practices, which if used improperly has the potential to harm and police students, faculty, and other researchers. More immediately, some of these companies actively enact broader societal harm by accumulating vast stores of data and sharing them with entities such as ICE - entities that embody values in direct conflict with those of many researchers and students. This event will explore these issues - and some potential solutions - through a keynote talk and panel featuring CUNY Professor of Law Sarah Lamdan, and a discussion about UW research in this area with Chris Geeng. Review our online program and register today! 

• May 3rd, 9:30 am - 11:00 am: Register for the keynote and panel
• May 3rd, 11:15 am - 12:15 pm: Register for "Like Lesbians Walking the Perimeter": Experiences of U.S. LGBTQ+ Folks With Online Security, Safety, and Privacy Advice

This event is co-sponsored by the UW Libraries Open Scholarship Commons and the Research Commons.

---

April 2022

Community Health Action Team looking for volunteers

The Community Health Action Team at UW (CHAT-UW) is so excited to announce that our spring application is now open. We are an interdisciplinary team of volunteers from across WWAMI, composed of UW undergraduate and graduate students passionate about promoting public health. CHAT-UW is a UW RSO and a UW School of Medicine community service organization. We have two fabulous projects, our newest one is a public health policy advocacy project, and our original project is the COVID-19 Fact of the Day project.

Currently we are so excited to be recruiting new teammates to join our incredible family. Check out our position descriptions to learn more about our open positions, from leadership roles to artists, translators, content creators, videographer, web designer, and many more, there is a position for you on our team. Most roles can be done remotely at this time.

Applications due

Applications are due by Sunday, April 24, 2022, at 11:59pm PDT.

Application link

Application 

Questions

chat-uw@uw.edu

COVID-19 Fact of the Day project on social media:

• Website  
• Facebook: COVID-19 Fact of the Day
• Instagram: UWCHAT
• Twitter: @uw_chatfotd
• TikTok: chat_uw

---

Bigger Than Leadership @ Foster Business Library 

Monday, April 11th, at 5:30-6:30pm Pacific 

What does it mean to be a leader in all aspects of your life? Join Brittany Do, UW junior in accounting and finance, and author of “Bigger Than Leadership'' in the Foster Business Library to learn why you are already a leader, even if you don’t realize it yet. Brittany will also discuss what it is like writing a book as a college student and some of the best parts of becoming an author. Come to learn, chat with other students, and ask questions! Books will be available for purchase and signing. 

Brittany Do's book, Bigger Than Leadership, is available from UW Libraries! 

Register for Brittany Do's talk here.

---

National Public Health Week

National Public Health Week (NPHW) starts April 4th, 2022 with the topic Racism: A Public Health Crisis. Learn more about all NPHW events.

NPHW 2022 Daily Themes

• Racism: A Public Health Crisis (Monday)
• Public Health Workforce: Essential to our Future (Tuesday)
• Community: Collaboration and Resilience (Wednesday)
• World Health Day: Health is a Human Right (Thursday)
• Accessibility: Closing the Health Equity Gap (Friday)
• Climate Change: Taking Action for Equity (Saturday)
• Mental Wellness: Redefining the Meaning of Health (Sunday)

---

Research Data Management Planning Workshop

Free, tutor-supported online learning workshop

Duration: Monday, April 18 - Thursday, April 21, 2022 (4 days)
Time Commitment: Approximately 30 minutes to 1 hour per day, for 4 straight days
Target audience: UW community members engaged in research with data.
Prerequisites: Access to the internet for each of the 4 days identified. A valid UW NetID is also required.

Description

• This module-based workshop consists of activities and peer discussion forums that will provide tips on how to construct an effective data management plan for your data and will provide information on tips and tools to help with your research data needs.
• By asking students to share experiences with one another, this workshop provides the space and opportunity for you to reflect on your skills and to see how various techniques and tools can be employed to help you build your data management plan and most effectively share and preserve your data.

Participation Process 

• This workshop will take place in Canvas over 4 days, with no fixed participation times (asynchronous).
• Each day corresponds to one online module, which includes a topic overview, resources, activity, and peer discussion forum.
• Discussion forums are the workshop's primary means of 'assessment,' so expect to post to forums daily. 
• You will be guided through the course by a team of friendly librarian tutors, who will answer questions and provide feedback.

How to Join

• If interested, please register via this Catalyst link no later than April 15, 2021.
• Space in the workshop is limited, and participants will be accepted on a first-come-first-served basis. Students who register after capacity is reached may be placed on a wait list.

Comments from previous class participants

• This is a great workshop -- exposing me to a lot of considerations about data management that I did not know about. The tutor responses have been really helpful. I was unaware of the data librarians on campus and will definitely reach out to them for more resources. Thank you!
• Very helpful and important for anyone working with data.
• I was really impressed with this workshop. It had so many wonderful resources and I learned a lot. The tutors were fantastic. ... The materials were great and easy to understand as well. It was good to know I'm heading in the right direction with data management and know how to really improve my data management. I come from an interpretive/qualitative background and often this type of research activity is learned on the job or through learning what not to do the next time around, so having this type of workshop can really help people like me prepare a lot better for the next big project. Thank you for all your hard work!
• Very helpful at all levels of experience.

Questions

If you have any questions, please feel free to email the Scholarly Communications and Publishing Team.

---

March 2022 

Open Education Week 

Student Authored: UW Open Pedagogy & Publishing

Monday, March 7, 1:30-2:30 p.m. 

Join us to hear from a panel of UW instructors who will speak about their work developing exciting digital publishing projects with student authors and artists. 

• Marie La Fond, Lecturer, Department of Classics, UW Seattle (Museum of Greek and Roman Mythology)
• Julie Shayne, Teaching Professor, School of Interdisciplinary Arts & Sciences, UW Bothell (Persistence is Resistance: Celebrating 50 Years of Gender, Women & Sexuality Studies and Badass Womxn in the Pacific Northwest)
• Juliet Sperling, Assistant Professor and Kollar Endowed Chair in American Art History, School of Art + Art History + Design, UW Seattle (Jacob Lawrence in Seattle) 

We’ll learn about how the projects were structured within and outside the classroom, publishing platforms, challenges and successes, followed by a Q&A with audience members.

Event Information and Zoom Registration Link

Open Educational Resources 101: Finding and Using OER

Tuesday, March 8, 2-3 p.m. 

Interested in using more free and open materials in your courses? Join this one-hour workshop where we’ll explore OER search tools together and talk about the difference between Open Access and OER.

Event Information and Zoom Link

UW Libraries Pressbooks: Create and Remix Interactive Course Materials

Thursday, March 10, 3-4 p.m.

Pressbooks is a tool that is free for UW faculty, students, and staff and that can be used to create, adapt, or remix digital books. This session will provide examples of course materials published in Pressbooks and demonstrate how to clone existing textbooks and add interactive elements (such as quizzing and flashcards).

Event Information and Zoom Link

To learn more about Open Education week and activities happening beyond the UW, check out our blog post Open Education Week: It’s Bigger than Free Textbooks.

January 2022

Public Domain Day 2022 

January 1, 2022 is Public Domain Day, when "works from 1926 are open to all, as is a cornucopia of recorded music: an estimated 400,000 sound recordings from before 1923!" 

---

Virtual Scholars' Studio

Volunteer to present in the 2022 Virtual Scholars' Studio! 

Hosted by the UW Libraries Research Commons and Core Programs in the Graduate School, Scholars’ Studio is a quarterly event featuring up to 10 short presentations (5 minutes each) by UW graduate students and postdocs. Each quarter we invite proposals for talks on a theme, in order to encourage the cross-disciplinary sharing of research. The event is fast paced and fun. It includes a Q&A with presenters, and a reception. Presenters receive feedback on their presentations through feedback forms distributed to audience members. Scholars’ Studio is an excellent opportunity for grad students looking to make connections and build presentation skills. The winter 2022 Scholars' Studio event will be a virtual event. 

Relevant links:

• RSVP to be part of the audience via the “Sign-up” links.
• Scholars' Studio: Call for Proposals (Open Theme) 
• Submit a proposal by February 4 // Virtual event on February 17 
• Send questions to Madeline Mundt 

---

UW School of Public Health is Recruiting Faculty

The University of Washington Department of Health Systems and Population Health in the School of Public Health seeks three highly motivated, impact-driven, creative and collaborative individuals to join our faculty in the roles of assistant professor, assistant teaching professor, and associate or full professor. Our department values and honors excellence in research, teaching, mentoring, practice and service in order to achieve our mission: to work with partners in public health and health care to prepare leaders, design solutions, and conduct innovative research that is translated in to practice and policy.

We are dedicated to hiring faculty who model the principles of equity, diversity, and inclusion, and anti-racism through their research, teaching, mentoring, practice, and service. Our faculty are excited to welcome individuals who are eager to contribute to evidence-based, interdisciplinary work and offer innovative approaches that enhance health equity, responsible partnerships, social justice, and service to the public good.

To view the positions and apply, visit:

• Assistant Teaching Professor Application 
• Assistant Professor Application 
• Associate or Full Professor Application

We appreciate your assistance in sharing this announcement widely with your networks.

December 2021

Coping With Climate Grief: A Panel Discussion on Eco-Anxiety

Please join us for Coping With Climate Grief: A Panel Discussion on Eco-Anxiety on December 2nd, in conjunction with the Climate Justice: Climate Solutions Through an Equity Lens exhibit in the Allen North Lobby, Nov 23rd - Jan 4th.

When:

Thursday, December 2, 5-6 PM

Where:

Zoom link 

Speakers:

Faculty:

• Maya Magarati, Psychiatry/Seven Directions and Indigenous Wellness Research Institute
• Jennifer Atkinson, Interdisciplinary Arts & Sciences, UW Bothell
• Cleo Wolfle-Hazard, School of Marine & Environmental Affairs

Students:

• Jonathan Kwong – undergrad, Environmental Science
• Aisha Rashid – undergrad, Marine Biology and American Indian Studies
• Bryan Pelach – PhD student, School of Environmental and Forest Sciences
• Inhwan Ko – PhD student, Political Science

---

September 2021 

Health Sciences Library (HSL) Opened September 2021

The HSL is open to the UW! 

---

August 2021

Research Data Management Planning Workshop

A free, tutor-supported online learning workshop
August 16-19, 2021

Duration:

Monday, August 16 - Thursday, August 19 (4 days)

Time Commitment:

Approximately 30 minutes to 1 hour per day, for 4 straight days

Target audience:

UW community members engaged in research with data.

Prerequisites:

Access to the internet for each of the 4 days identified. A valid UW NetID is also required

Description:

• This module-based workshop consists of activities and peer discussion forums that will provide tips on how to construct an effective data management plan for your data and will provide information on tips and tools to help with your research data needs.
• By asking students to share experiences with one another, this workshop provides the space and opportunity for you to reflect on your skills and to see how various techniques and tools can be employed to help you build your data management plan and most effectively share and preserve your data.

Participation Process:

• This workshop will take place in Canvas over 4 days, with no fixed participation times (asynchronous).
• Each day corresponds to one online module, which includes a topic overview, resources, activity, and peer discussion forum.
• Discussion forums are the workshop's primary means of 'assessment,' so expect to post to forums daily. 
• You will be guided through the course by a team of friendly librarian tutors, who will answer questions and provide feedback.

How to Join:

• If interested, please register via this Catalyst link no later than August 13, 2021.
• Space in the workshop is limited, and participants will be accepted on a first-come-first-served basis. Students who register after capacity is reached may be placed on a wait list.

Comments from previous class participants:

• This is a great workshop -- exposing me to a lot of considerations about data management that I did not know about. The tutor responses have been really helpful. I was unaware of the data librarians on campus and will definitely reach out to them for more resources. Thank you!
• Very helpful and important for anyone working with data.
• I was really impressed with this workshop. It had so many wonderful resources and I learned a lot. The tutors were fantastic. ... The materials were great and easy to understand as well. It was good to know I'm heading in the right direction with data management and know how to really improve my data management. I come from an interpretive/qualitative background and often this type of research activity is learned on the job or through learning what not to do the next time around, so having this type of workshop can really help people like me prepare a lot better for the next big project. Thank you for all your hard work!
• Very helpful at all levels of experience.

Contact:

If you have any questions, please feel free to contact the Data Services Team.

---

Tetras’ Adaptive Gaming (TAG)

Harborview Medical Center’s Recreational Therapy Program and Assistive Technology Lab is excited to share that they will be offering a new video gaming group for individuals with SCI, called Tetras’ Adaptive Gaming (TAG), which will meet approximately once per month for in person or virtual gaming. 

• Open to anyone with a spinal cord injury; if you are interested in playing, ask your SCI health care provider to refer you to outpatient Recreational Therapy at Harborview Medical Center. 
• If you do not have a SCI health care provider within the UW system, please contact Kristy Grant for more information.
• Have reduced hand or arm function but interested in adaptive video gaming? Your health care provider can refer you to Occupational Therapy for an Assistive Technology evaluation where you can learn about and use special equipment to play video games. 
• We have funds to help pay for specialized equipment so that everyone can participate. 
• Gaming to begin in September.

Please contact Kristy Grant with any questions:

Kristy Grant, CTRS/R
Recreational Therapist
TR Clinical Coordinator
Phone/voicemail: (206) 744-5052
Email: kbc4@uw.edu

The TAG program was funded by a grant by the Neilsen Foundation and we are appreciative of their support.

Participate in Research

---

May 2021

Library Research Award for Undergraduates

The UW Library Research Award for Undergraduates recognizes outstanding research projects, in all formats, created by undergraduate students. Grand Prize winners receive $1,000 and University-wide recognition for their outstanding accomplishment. Honorable Mention winners receive $500. The three categories are: Lower-division (90 college credits, or less), Upper-Division Non-Thesis, and Upper-Division Thesis. 

This year’s application deadline is May 3rd, 2021, 11:59PM.

SPECIAL FOR 2021: Because of last year’s Research Award cancellation, we are expanding the eligibility window for student projects to include last academic year. Students can submit projects created for courses from Spring 2019 to Spring 2021. 

Library Collection Review

The Health Sciences Library is inviting the health sciences community to provide feedback on some of its collections throughout the month of May 2021. Please note: This is not a proposed cancellation list, the Health Sciences Library is seeking feedback about journals that are important to your work.

You may provide feedback on other and interdisciplinary resources at the UW Libraries Subscription Review 2021.

---

Tent City 3: Current and Upcoming Needs

During winter quarter 2021, UW is hosting Tent City 3 (TC3). The UW School of Nursing (SON) is looking for student volunteers to staff weekly "office hour" sessions at their pop-up computer lab for Tent City 3 residents. Volunteers will provide residents who check out Chromebook laptops with basic tech support and assistance accessing job and health information and resources, either virtually or in-person. Check-out binders will also be available with step-by-step instructions for Gmail account set-up, Google docs, and Zoom (more to come per resident feedback). 

Interested? Email Wendy Barrington at wendybar@uw.edu to finalize your staffing assignment! 

On March 17th, 2021, TC3 will move from UW to University Congregational United Church of Christ (UCUCC) in the University District. Residents will need help on the move day. Please stay tuned for more information about volunteering to help with the move and with tech support if the SoN project continues! 

---

Now Hiring Peer Tutors for 2021-2022

Both undergraduate and graduate students from across the UW's schools and campuses are welcome to apply! 

The Odegaard Writing & Research Center (OWRC) is now hiring for multiple hourly peer tutor positions beginning Fall Quarter 2021 and continuing through Spring Quarter 2022. If you or someone you know might be interested in and qualified to apply for work as a peer writing tutor at the OWRC, please use and share this link to our application. 

The OWRC is an interdisciplinary writing and research center that aims to support UW students, staff, and faculty on their diverse writing and research projects through one-to-one tutoring sessions, workshops, and other programs.

Our tutors are undergraduate and graduate students from a wide range of academic fields, and we provide a rich learning environment for writers and tutors alike. We consistently hear from tutors that their work here is challenging and transformative.

Peer Tutor Applications are due on Sunday, April 25th at 11:59 pm. We encourage applicants to bring their materials to the OWRC and discuss them with our current tutors—just make an appointment and we’ll see you online. Students who have applied in the past are welcome to apply again. Please email owrc@uw.edu if you have any questions!

---

April 2021

Women's History Month: Film Viewing & Discussion

Please note the original notice had a misprint, the panel discussion on April 7 will be at 6-7pm Pacific! 

Graduate Medical Education (SOM), School of Medicine Dean’s Standing Committee for Women in Medicine and Science, Office of Faculty Affairs (SOM), Research and Graduated Education (SOM), Academic, Rural and Regional Affairs (SOM), Office of Healthcare Equity (SOM) and the Health Sciences Library are pleased to announce the screening of the documentary Picture a Scientist followed by a panel discussion about women in the sciences and the challenges and the issues they face. We hope you can join us! 

Picture a Scientist chronicles the groundswell of researchers who are writing a new chapter for women scientists. Biologist Nancy Hopkins, chemist Raychelle Burks, and geologist Jane Willenbring lead viewers on a journey deep into their own experiences in the sciences, ranging from brutal harassment to years of subtle slights. Along the way, from cramped laboratories to spectacular field stations, we encounter scientific luminaries - including social scientists, neuroscientists, and psychologists - who provide new perspectives on how to make science itself more diverse, equitable, and open to all.

Watch the film, then please join in on the live conversation (via Zoom of course)!

Watch:

The film will be available for viewing anytime April 2 to April 4.
A unique streaming code will be emailed to attendees. Register for event.

Discuss:

Please join us on Wed. April 7th from 6-7:00 p.m. PST / 7-8:00 p.m. MST

Facilitator: Mimi Cabrera, Associate Professor, Division Chief, Pediatric Ophthalmology

Panelists:

• Bessie Young, MD, MPH Professor, Division of Nephrology Medical Director and Associate Dean for Healthcare Equity
• Barbara Jung, MD Professor and Chair, Department of Medicine
• Trisha Davis, PhD Professor and Chair, Department of Biochemistry
• Madeline Wozniak, MD Resident, PGY2, Pediatrics
• Davia Loren, MD Associate Professor, Pediatrics
• Norianne Ingram, PhD Postdoctoral Fellow, Physiology and Biophysics

Questions

If you have questions in advance, please put them on the registration form or email these to Tammy Ramirez (tkh971@uw.edu). If you miss the documentary screening period, please contact Tammy Ramirez as there is an alternate way to view the film through UW.

Intro to Business Research

To help students develop their business research skills now and into their professional careers, the Foster business librarians are offering "Introduction to Business Library Research," a free online workshop in Canvas that will take place asynchronously over a 4-week period.

Course highlights:

• Introductions to company, industry, market research, and data resources.
• Hands-on activities in library-subscription databases.
• Opportunities to interact and learn from business librarians.
• Students will spend no more than an hour per week for 4 weeks on readings and activities.

Intro to Business Library Research for spring quarter will begin on Monday, April 12. This course is open to all UW students. 

Links: 

• Sign up here. 
• Learn more here. 

---

March 2021

Black History Month: Film Screening and Q&A

University of Washington (UW) Health Sciences Library; UW School of Medicine (SOM) Faculty Affairs; UW Graduate Medical Education; UW SOM Academic, Rural and Regional Affairs; and UW SOM Office of Healthcare Equity are proud to present the documentary film “Black Men in White Coats.” Fewer Black men applied to medical school in 2014 than in 1978 and Black men have the lowest life expectancy in the United States. With only 2% of American doctors being Black men, this comes as no surprise. This documentary dissects the systemic barriers preventing Black men from becoming medical doctors and the consequences to society at large.

Watch:

The film will be available for viewing anytime between February 27 and March 3. A unique streaming code will be emailed to attendees. Register Here 

Discuss:

Please join us on Wed. March 3rd from 5-6:00 p.m. PST/6-7:00 p.m. MST, for a virtual Q&A and discussion panel with Dr. Dale Okorodudu, founder and executive director of the film.

Guest: Dr. Dale Okorodudu, Founder & Executive Producer, Black Men in White Coats

Facilitator: Dr. Paula Houston, Chief Equity Officer, UW SOM Office of Healthcare Equity

Panelists:

• Dr. Byron Joyner, Vice Dean for Graduate Medical Education
• Dr. Greg Walker, Orthopedics and Sports Medicine
• Dr. Ben Danielson, Clinical Professor of Pediatrics

---

Individual Study at the Research Commons Open

UW Libraries is excited to announce that Individual Study Space at the Research Commons (on the ground floor of Allen Library South) will officially open for spring quarter on Tuesday, March 30th, 2021. 

Starting with limited capacity. This is the first Libraries space to open; and reduced hours and days will provide essential time for learning and observing how the space is working, and inform any adjustments that may need to be made as we work to expand hours, services, and spaces as staffing permits. 

Learn more and reserve your spot in the quiet individual study space at the Research Commons. 

---

UW Libraries Student Video Contest

The UW Libraries Student Video Contest is in its final two weeks. Graduate and undergraduate students can capture their love for UW Libraries in a video and submit their work to win up to $1,500!

Student video submissions due by 11:59 p.m. Pacific on March 15, 2021.

Awards:

• First place: $1,500
• Second place: $1,000
• Third place: $500

Learn more at this link.

---

Virtual Library Study Rooms

Don’t want to study alone? All students are welcome to join the UW Libraries' Virtual Study Room. We’ll provide motivational tips, a variety of soundtracks to study to, and opportunities for you to meet and chat with other students. Come for the whole time or stop by for a lightning study session. Studying for finals is hard enough -- you don’t have to do it alone!

Upcoming virtual study rooms:

• Friday, March 12, 2021 at 7-11 pm 
• Sunday, March 14, 2021 at 4-8 pm 

Event details, including Zoom links and times, can be found on the UW Libraries Events Calendar.

---

Securing a National Institutes of Health Funded Dissertation Award

Image Text

Colleagues, please join us for a lunchtime presentation by: John Salerno, MPH, PhD Candidate, University of Maryland Department of Behavioral and Community Health

Securing an NIH-Funded Dissertation Award

Wednesday, March 24, 2021, 12-1PM Eastern
Registration Required

Hosted by the UMD Dept. of Behavioral & Community Health Human Subjects and Research Committee & Community THRIVES Lab

All are welcome! 

Questions? Email Dr. Kirsten Stoebenau at kstoeben@umd.edu.

---

UW Seattle Libraries Storytelling Fellows: Omeka Exhibits

Image Text

Are you a graduate student at the University of Washington Seattle? Want to make a fantastic digital exhibit? Featuring your research? Apply for the UW Seattle Libraries Storytelling Fellows: Omeka Exhibits workshop! More information and application for the workshop. 

More Information

Are you curious about showcasing your research to a broader audience? Are you interested in building a digital exhibit--an exhibit full of engaging media and accessible text--for your research or for a course assignment?

The UW Libraries is sponsoring a fun, community focused, 4-week workshop focusing on the exhibit platform Omeka and how the UW libraries can support your digital storytelling needs. This totally free, 4-week online program will take accepted Fellows through the start-to-finish process of envisioning and creating an exhibit suitable for an online portfolio, a professional presentation, an academic project, or a popular exhibition.

In this workshop, you can expect to:

• Learn about digital exhibit platforms and how digital exhibits can showcase your research.
• Feel comfortable adding items to collections, writing descriptive metadata, and building simple exhibits in Omeka.
• Reflect on how you can use this software in your own teaching or scholarship.
• Meet and interact with other graduate students in an interdisciplinary, relaxed, and empathetic learning environment.

Workshop Details:

• The course will run from April 6th to April 27th.
• There will be four live Tuesday sessions hosted via zoom from 4:00pm-6:00pm on April 6th, April 13th, April 20th, and April 27th. These sessions are mandatory.
• The amount of time you can spend on your digital exhibit is definitely open ended, but we believe that over the course of four weeks, you'll probably spend 15-20 hours going through the process of coming up with an idea, uploading images with metadata, writing a narrative, sharing your work with others, and finalizing your exhibit.
• The accessibility of features of this workshop include automatic Zoom captions and recordings and transcripts for each session. In the workshop, we will aim to say our names every time we speak, and this is a link to Omeka’s accessibility documentation.

To apply, please fill out this application by March 31st, 2021.

Miscellaneous Archived News

Public Health Pilot Research Grants

Apply for a pilot research grant from the Population Health Initiative, grants offered quarterly! "Submissions will be accepted from any eligible applicant, regardless of whether they attended an information session." Grants are offered in three tiers: 

1. Laying the foundation: Awards of up to $25,000 
2. Establishing Proof-of-Concept: Awards of up to $65,000 
3. Scaling for Greater Impact: Awards of up to $200,000 

More information.

---

Health Sciences Library (HSL) Open 7 Days Per Week

Beginning March 2022, the HSL is open seven days per week; go to hours and operations updates for more information. 

---

Community Reads & Wellbeing

Indigenous Speaker Series

Series available to watch on Vimeo. This project aimed to expand on the Common Book this year, Braiding Sweetgrass: Indigenous Wisdom, Scientific Knowledge, and the Teachings of Plants by Robin Wall-Kimmerer. 

Includes: 

• Understanding Food Sovereignty with Charlotte Cote, PhD, MA (Tseshaht/Nuu-chah-nulth), 
• Reciprocity of Knowledge and Community Science with Michelle Montgomery, PhD (Enrolled Haliwa Saponi/Descendent Eastern Band Cherokee), and 
• Determinants of Planetary Health: An Indigenous Perspective with Melissa Vera, RN, BSN, PhD-C (Tsimshian and Yaqui) 

The Common Book Program is a collaborative project by Rachel Lazzar, Leonora Clarke, Silver Lee, and Laurel Barchet. 

Common Book

"We, too, on land are often navigating contexts that seem impossible for us to breathe in, and yet we must….” – Alexis Pauline Gumbs, Undrowned, p. 21.

For 2021-2022, the UWB/CC Campus Library Community Reads program will focus on the topic of Wellbeing. We hope to offer opportunities for grounding, connection, and reflection as we continue to navigate through personal, societal, and global trauma caused by an ongoing pandemic and an unjust world. For this quarter, we offer this reading from Alexis Pauline Gumbs, Undrowned: Black Feminist Lessons from Marine Animals (ebook available from UW Libraries). We will focus on two meditations from the book: breathe and go deep.

Using these meditations, along with prompts inspired by the writing, we invite the UW community to join us in contributing to an online community gallery dedicated to learning to breathe in the troubled waters that surround us. We encourage community members to engage with the prompts however feels right to them. Then inspired by the prompts/reading submit your art, writing, or other creative expression to our online gallery where your work will be displayed alongside others to create a collective art piece. The site includes access to the readings, prompts, and instructions on how to submit your work. Though we have chosen not to gather in person this quarter, we hope our pause to reflect and create will remind us that we are still in community, even from afar. All UW students, faculty, staff, units, and departments are all encouraged to dive in and participate.

Visit our online gallery website to get started.