PubMed
Use databases such as PubMed to find information in the traditional literature.
Here are some useful subject headings and subheadings to use.
PubMed
In PubMed, if you wish to focus to a specific subheading of a subject heading, combine the two terms in the pattern subject heading/subheading[mh], ex. community health services/utilization[mh]
Subject Heading
- Community Health Services (includes Community Health Nursing)
- Ethnic Groups (includes specific subgroups)
- Healthcare Disparities
- Medically Underserved
- Policy Making
- Program Development
- Public Policy (includes Health Policy)
- Health Services (includes more specific named services)
- Intervention Studies
- Program Evaluation
- Risk Factors
- Risk Reduction Behavior
*Refer to the MeSH database for more information
*See PubMed at the UW guide for more complete information on searching PubMed.
Community Health Sectors - Search Tips
- American Native Continental Ancestry Group [MeSH]
- Family or Kinship Networks [MeSH]
- Nonprofit Organizations [MeSH]
- Industry [MeSH]
- Faith-based OR "faith community" OR "church based" [keywords]
CINAHL Complete
In CINAHL, the pattern for manually entering subject headings and subheadings is as follows (MH "Subject Heading+/SN")
Subject Heading
*See the CINAHL research guide for more information on searching CINAHL.
Community Health Sectors - Search Tips
- Native Americans [CINAHL Heading]
- Family [CINAHL Heading]
- Nonprofit Organizations [CINAHL Heading]
- Business [CINAHL Heading]
- Churches [CINAHL Heading]
More Health Sciences Databases
Keywords
Additional Search Tips Regarding Keywords
- Use keywords in addition to subject headings to increase search results.
- Ex. Hispanic American[mh] OR Latino PubMed example
- Use truncation to increase search results by including derivations of a root word
- Ex. Hispanic American[mh] OR Latin* PubMed example
- Use phrase searching for more relevant results
- Ex. "Alaskan Native" OR "Alaska Native"
- Search for keywords in the title field for quick, relevant results
- Ex. food security[ti] PubMed example
(CAB Direct) Bibliographic coverage of the literature in international public health. Check for Thesaurus terms.
Social work, social welfare, human services and community development.
Current research on human services, social policy, and community development.
Information resources to support public health practice.