Public Health Toolkit

• UW School of Public Health Job Listings
  Public Health Jobs and Fellowships approved by a moderator.
• APHA CareerMart
  Career guidance and job postings by the American Public Health Association (APHA).
• PublicHealth Career Guide
  List of public health fields and careers.
• Jobs in Public Health
  Directory of employment websites.
• CDC Health Department Directories
  Directory of U.S. health departments.
• Washington State Local Health Departments and Districts
  Find your local department of health in Washington State.

• Statistics Sources in the Health Sciences
  UW HSL guide to sources for local, state, national and international statistics and data in the field of health sciences.
• Data Resources in the Health Sciences
  UW HSL guide to sources for data including citation guidance.
• CDC Wonder
  Searchable compilation of Centers for Disease Control (CDC) reports, guidelines, and health data for disease and demographic groups. Includes surveillance data, Healthy People, MMWR, and other CDC publications.
• National Center for Health Statistics
  Wide variety of health-related statistics, including FastStats: Statistics by Topic
• SMART: BRFSS City and County Data
  Data of selected metropolitan and micropolitan statistical areas (MMSAs) from CDC Behavioral Risk Factor Surveillance System (BRFSS)

• AHRQ Effective Health Care Program
  Federal agency charged with improving the safety and quality of America's health care system.
• The Community Guide
  CDC Guide to Community Preventive Services. Systematic reviews and evidence-based recommendations.

• Evidence Informed Public Health
  National Collaborating Centre for Methods and Tools (NCCMT) of Canada
• Public Health +
  High quality pre-appraised studies and reviews relevant to public health. NCCMT, and McMaster University.
• Public Health Foundation

• Search PubMed Guidelines
  

• Northwest Center for Public Health Practice (NWCPHP)
• UW School of Public Health Centers and Institutes

• HealthMap
  Global disease alert interactive map. Children's Hospital Informatics Program. Harvard-MIT Division of Health Sciences & Technology.
• Radiation Emergency Medical Management (REMM)
  U.S. HHS guidance on diagnosis & treatment for health care providers.
• Emergency Response Guidebook
  2020 ebook. U.S. Department of Transportation, Pipeline and Hazardous Materials Safety Administration (USDOT/PHMSA) guidebook for first responders during the initial phase of a transportation incident involving dangerous goods/hazardous materials.
• Hazardous Materials Release
  Department of Homeland Security resource on hazardous materials preparedness, response, and recovery.

• Think Tank Search
  Grey literature search engine from Harvard Kennedy School Library and Knowledge Services
• Open Think Tank Directory
  Global collection of think tanks and related organizations.
• Union of International Associations IGO Search
  Search all intergovernmental websites, comprising over 3000 bodies including the United Nations, the European Commission, the World Bank, etc.
• Intergovernmental Organization search engine
  Custom Google search engine that searches across hundreds of IGO websites.
• NGO search engine
  Custom Google search engine designed to search across hundreds of NGO websites.
• Yearbook of International Organizations
  Detailed descriptions of non-governmental (NGO), inter-governmental, non-profit, and other international organizations.
• Grey Literature Report
  NYAM Library report & catalog of new publications in health services and selected public health topics. 1999-2016.
  
• OpenGrey: System for Information on Grey Literature in Europe
  Bibliographical references of grey literature (paper) produced in Europe.
• Dissertations and Theses at UW
  Guide to finding dissertations and theses at the UW and beyond
• ProQuest Dissertations & Theses Global 
  Index to dissertations and theses from all fields of study, 1861-present, with full text available 1997-present.
• NTIS & NTRL
  Search for U.S. government-funded scientific, technical, engineering and business-related information. Includes Public Access National Technical Reports Library.

Health Sciences Library Liaisons

Contact us via chat or email via Ask Us!

Class Resources