Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
University of Washington Health Sciences Library

NURS 303 Foundations of Professional Nursing: Library Resources

Tips on how to do the research for your assignments.

Summary

  1. Most of the journals that are available through the UW Health Sciences Library are available online.
  2. Some are available on the shelves in print and can be photocopied at the library.
  3. UW students, staff, and faculty may order copies of any article at no charge. [placing a RUSH request does incur a fee.]

Online Articles

This is icon links citation records in the databases to the full text of the article in the library's collection. If there are no 'direct links' to full text found as in the image below, you may either Check Additional Sources by searching the Library catalog or place a request for an electronic copy of the article by clicking on the& 'Request Item' purple button.

Requests for electronic copies are managed through your InterLibrary Loan (ILL) account which is accessed using your UW NetID and password. This service is currently offered at no charge.  However, this may change in the future. Please review the order form or this UW Desktop Delivery information page for updated information.

Use the Catalog

The UW Libraries Catalog is also considered a bibliographic database. It differs from databases such as CINAHL and PubMed by the level of publication type indexed. CINAHL and PubMed index at the article level so you are able to identify specific articles within journals that match your search terms. The library catalog indexes at a broader publication type. One is able to search the catalog and identify larger bodies of work on a given topic including books, journals, videos, etc.

The catalog record shows if online access to the journal is available. It also shows where the item is located.

Health Sciences Library | 1959 NE Pacific Street, T334 Health Sciences Building, Box 357155, Seattle, WA 98195-7155 USA, 206-543-3390 | Privacy | Terms
CC BY-NC 4.0 Text on this page created by UW Libraries is licensed under a CC BY-NC 4.0 license. Images and video are not included. See details.