What's in this guide
This guide lists Health Sciences Library resources that can help psychiatry residents with scholarly projects. The guide links directly to research resources, as well as other help guides designed to assist you in finding references, creating citations and publishing your results. Links with a lock icon require UWNetID login.
Click on the tabs at the top of this page to see additional help pages:
Database Resources Help
- EBSCO Databases Video TutorialTechniques for searching EBSCO's Academic Search Complete database are applicable to PsycInfo and PsychARTICLES from EBSCO. Scroll down to "EBSCOhost Research Database Tutorials" section.
- My NCBIA guide to the use of PubMed's My NCBI from Health Sciences librarians
- PubMed at the UWA guide to the use of PubMed from Health Sciences librarians
Database Reference Resources
For information about and links to many other databases, in addition to those described below.
- EMBASE
This link opens in a new window
(Elsevier) EMBASE is a biomedical and pharmacological database indexing 7500 journals from over 70 countries, and over 260,000 conference abstracts. - PsycARTICLES (Ebsco)
- This link opens in a new window
A robust database offering complete access to the full text of more than 90 landmark journals in behavioral science and related fields ranging from education, to nursing, to business, to neuroscience. - PsycInfo (Ebsco)
- This link opens in a new window
An expansive abstracting and indexing database with more than 3 million records devoted to peer-reviewed literature in the behavioral sciences and mental health, making it an ideal discovery and linking tool for scholarly research in a host of disciplines. - PubMedMEDLINE
- Web of Science
- This link opens in a new window
Multidisciplinary database covering journals in the sciences, social sciences, and arts and humanities, with searchable cited references.
Additional Reference Resources
Informational guides created by HSL and UW librarians to assist in your scholarly work:
- Data Resources in the Health SciencesAn introduction to the world of data in the health sciences field.
- Dissertations and ThesesA guide for locating dissertations and master's theses at the UW and elsewhere.
- Grey LiteratureA guide for locating grey literature, generally considered material not published commercially or indexed by major databases, at the UW and elsewhere.
- Measurement Tools/Research InstrumentsAn instructional guide for locating measurement tools for researchers and practitioners.
- Qualitative Research ArticlesA guide for getting started finding articles
- Statistics Sources: Health SciencesSources for statistics and data in the health sciences field.
- Translational Researcher ToolsA list of commonly used resources for conducting research
