Library Guides: Women in the Pacific Northwest Outdoors: A UW Special Collections Guide: Collections

Archives West

Collections hold material such as papers, photographs, manuscripts, records, memorabilia, and other items. The collections on this page are starting points for researching women in the PNW outdoors. The linked titles will take you to finding aids in Archives West. Finding aids provide repository location, biographical information, box numbers and locations, and content description.

Visit Archives West to search finding aids for materials in Special Collections. If you are just starting out, begin with a broad search term, such as Pacific Northwest Women.

►Tip: If you're looking for a collection with information about a specific person, phrase, association, etc., put the search term in quotation marks. For example, "Louise B. Marshall" will result in collections with that exact phrase in the title or content description.

Collections - Available in Digital Format

Four mountaineers, two women and two men, on Nisqually Glacier, ca. 1925. PH Coll 52.15

Hazle Chapman photograph collection, circa 1940s-1950s - Camping, Outdoor School, Education, Olympic Mountains.

Mabel Furry photograph collection, circa 1912-1944 - Mount Rainier, Mount Anderson, Mount Olympus, Olympic Mountains.

Dora Keen Photograph Collection, 1911 - Mount Blackburn, Mountain Climbing, Alaska.

undefined Ruth and Louis Kirk moving image collection - Documentaries, Pacific Northwest, Naturalist, Wildlife, Communities.

Mazamas Outing souvenir album, 1912 - Mountain Climbing, Club, Oregon, Mount Rainier.

Ella McBride Soroptimist photographs albums - Professional women, Pacific Northwest, Seattle, Mountaineers.

The Mountaineers film collection - The Mountaineers, Outdoor recreation, Trail trips, Climbing.

The Mountaineers photo album collection (partially digitized) - The Mountaineers, Outdoor recreation.

Rainier National Park Mountain-Glacier Wonderland Photo Album - Mount Rainier, Rainier National Park Company, Promotional photography.

Further Research - Not Available in Digital Format

Polly Dyer papers, 1953-2001 - Environmental Activism, Sierra Club, Olympic Coastline.

Harriet Geithmann papers, 1924-1949 - Manuscripts, Nature, Pacific Northwest.

Emily Haig papers, 1933-1972 - Conservation, Conservation Organizations, Sierra Club, Mountaineers, Pacific Northwest.

Ruth Ittner papers, 1976-1997 - Hiking, Volunteers, Environmental Advocate, Iron Goat Trail.

Louise B. Marshall papers, 1965-1975 - Guidebook Author, Hiking, Washington Trails Association, Manuscripts.

Hazel Wolf papers - Seattle Activism, Feminism, Environmental protection.