Research Guides
History : Asian American: Encyclopedias
A research guide to primary and secondary sources for Asian American history.
Encyclopedias help you figure out the who, what & where of a topic. Knowing the who, what & where of a topic is the first step in researching a topic and discovering the "how" and "why". Encyclopedias and dictionaries can provide background information and can be used to identify key people, events and dates which can then be used as search terms for finding additional information. Many also provide a jumpstart on your research by listing related readings.
Two online encyclopedia collections: Gale Ebooks & Oxford Reference Online.
Quick Info: Encyclopedias: Asian Americans
- 25 Events that Shaped Asian American History: An Encyclopedia
This link opens in a new window
- Asian American Chronology
- This link opens in a new window
- Asian American History and Culture: An Encyclopedia
- This link opens in a new window
- Asian Americans: An Encyclopedia of Social, Cultural, Economic, and Political History
- This link opens in a new window
- Asian American Society: An Encyclopedia
- This link opens in a new window
- Chinese Americans: The History and Culture of a People
- This link opens in a new window
- Encyclopedia of Asian American Issues Today
- This link opens in a new window
- Japanese Americans: The History and Culture of a People
- This link opens in a new window
- SAGE Encyclopedia of Filipina/x/o American Studies
- This link opens in a new window
Quick Info: Encyclopedias: American History
These more general encyclopedias on American history and immigration will include material related to the Asian American experience.
- Anti-Immigration in the United States: A Historical Encyclopedia
- This link opens in a new window
- Dictionary of American History
- This link opens in a new window
- Encyclopedia of Immigration and Migration in the American West
- This link opens in a new window
- Gale Encyclopedia of Multicultural America
- This link opens in a new window
- Immigrants in American History: Arrival, Adaptation, and Integration
- This link opens in a new window
- Multicultural America: An Encyclopedia of the Newest Americans
- This link opens in a new window
- Oxford Research Encyclopedia: American History
- This link opens in a new window
In-Depth Info: Handbooks & Companions
These books provide a survey of the state of research about a topic or region, historiography or concise overviews.
- Columbia guide to Asian American history
- This link opens in a new window
- Companion to Asian American Studies
- This link opens in a new window
- Oxford Handbook of Asian American History
- This link opens in a new window
Other Sources
- Asian Americans
- This link opens in a new window