Skip to Main Content

bullhorn iconFor FAQs and current status of services and policies see UW Libraries Operations Updates

Research Guides

Crocodile Café Collection: Home

The Crocodile Café Collection contains over 3000 hours of live music recordings. Recorded at the Café between 2002 and 2007 by audio engineer Jim Anderson, these recordings document performances by dozens of artists, notable and obscure.

Welcome

The Crocodile Café Collection contains over 5 years of unique live audio and video recordings. Recorded at the Crocodile Café between May 2002 and December 2007 by audio engineer Jim Anderson, these recordings document performances by 2,000+ artists. From indie rock to punk, freak folk to noise, and Disney cover to shoegazer, the collection captures numerous memorable and energetic performances. Whatever your opinion of a particular band, the authentic and crystalline quality of the recordings is a testament to the audio engineering prowess of the collection's donor and creator, Jim Anderson.

Croc Collection Word Cloud

Listen

The Crocodile Cafe Collection is available for listening by appointment only. Contact us to make an appointment. 

FAQ

Jim Anderson @ the Croc's board.

Q: Do I need to be affiliated with the UW in order to access the Collection? 

A: No. While it is the Libraries' primary mission is to serve members of the UW community, the general public is encouraged to come and listen. Just be sure to make an appointment beforehand. 

Q: What's in the collection?

A: Click here to view a list of the collection's contents.

Q: Why aren't the recordings online?

A: The University of Washington owns the recordings but not the rights to the intellectual content on the recordings. Therefore, in order to provide researchers access to the material while preventing unauthorized duplication and distribution of the recordings, we restrict access to in-Archives use only. We want to be sure that we are working on the side of the artists by both preserving their legacy and protecting their intellectual content.

Q: Why is it housed at the University of Washington?

A: Jim Anderson donated the original recordings to the UW Ethnomusicology Archives in October 2008 (Collection number 2008.12). They are being preserved and made accessible by the Archives and the UW Libraries. This collection complements the Ethnomusicology Archives' Seattle Sounds project.