Skip to Main Content
Select Libraries are open. Online resources and support are available 24/7! Please see our COVID-Update page for reopening dates and hours starting in September. UW Libraries COVID-19 Updates
UW Libaries Special Collections
Multimedia Projects on the Web
A multimedia translation of The Divine Comedy that integrates multimedia, hyperlinked text commentary, and other materials (Columbia University).
Compare limitless combinations of the poem, translations, and commentaries. Read the poem with facing-page translation. Browse 700 years' worth of commentaries.
A curated, crowd-sourced repository for “citings” and “sightings” of Dante and his work in contemporary culture.
The World of Dante
The World of Dante is a multi-media research tool intended to facilitate the study of the Divine Comedy. Users engage the poem dynamically (University of Virginia).
An integrated multimedia journey--combining artistic images, textual commentary, and audio recordings--through the three realms of the afterlife (Inferno, Purgatory, Paradise) presented in Dante's Divine Comedy (University of Texas at Austin).
Dartmouth Dante Project
The Dartmouth Dante Project (DDP) is a searchable full-text database containing more than seventy commentaries on Dante's Divine Comedy - the Commedia.
Princeton Dante Project
Provides side-by-side texts in Italian and English of major and minor works; line-by-line access to centuries of commentaries on the Commedia, including a modern English commentary; audio recordings of the entire Commedia in Italian and of selected Cantos in English; classic Dante illustrations searchable by canto and line of the passages they illustrate; and other materials.
Life, Works, Manuscripts, Bibliographies, and more. In Italian and English (Società Dante Alighieri/Italian Dante Society).
An interactive digital map with the places mentioned in Dante Alighieri’s Divine Comedy (University of Pennsylvania).
Dante's Divine Comedy, censored by Spanish Inquisition
A 1564 edition of La Divina Comedia from Arévalo, Spain.
In the 1564 edition held by Brandeis University, the poem is encircled by commentaries from Christoforo Landino, Allesandro Vellutello, and Francesco Sansovino, all of whom were well-known Dante critics of their respective times.
Renaissance Dante in Print (1472-1629)
An online exhibition of illuminated Renaissance editions of Dante's Divine Comedy.
Divine Comedy Image Website
Images from illustrated editions of Dante Alighieri’s poem found in the Fiske Dante Collection, Division of Rare and Manuscript Collections, Cornell University Library.
Full-text online of Dante's works.
History and Criticism
T.S. Eliot on Dante
Eliot, T.S. “Dante” Selected Essays of T.S. Eliot. Columbia Granger's World of Poetry Online.