Research Guides
- University of Washington Libraries
- Library Guides
- UW Libraries
- Ethnomusicology
- Find Recordings & Videos
Ethnomusicology: Find Recordings & Videos
Find Recordings & Videos
Top resources for audio and video:
- Smithsonian Global Sound This link opens in a new window
This link opens in a new window
Smithsonian Global Sound (produced in partnership with Smithsonian Folkways Recordings), is a virtual encyclopedia of the world's musical and aural traditions. The collection provides educators, students, and interested listeners with an unprecedented variety of online resources that support the creation, continuity, and preservation of diverse musical forms. - Ethnographic Video Online This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Ethnographic Video Online (from Alexander Street Press) is a comprehensive online resource for the study of human culture, behavior and society around the world. The collections contain over 1,300 hours of streaming video, including ethnographic films, documentaries, select feature films, and previously unpublished fieldwork. It’s also a resource for a study of the discipline itself: By placing examples of traditional ethnographic methodologies alongside indigenous-made films representing previously overlooked perspectives, scholars, teachers and students of anthropology can gain a sense of the discipline’s history and of its future direction.
- Music & Performing Arts OnlineMusic & Performing Arts (from Alexander Street Press) combines audio and video that spans all time periods, hundreds of thousands of seminal artists, composers, choreographers, and ensembles to provide an unparalleled learning environment for the teaching of music.
- UW Ethnomusicology ArchivesThe University of Washington Ethnomusicology Archives has been collecting and curating unique ethnographic music recordings for over 50 years. Its holdings of more than 50,000 items include field recordings documenting music traditions of all kinds from most areas of the world, concert recordings of visiting musicians, and films and videos of a variety of musical events. Archival recordings are available for on-site listening and viewing.
- EVIA DIgital Archive ProjectThe EVIA Digital Archive Project is a collaborative endeavor to create a digital archive of ethnographic field video for use by scholars and instructors. Funded since 2001 by the Andrew W. Mellon Foundation with significant contributions from Indiana University and the University of Michigan, the Project has been developed through the joint efforts of ethnographic scholars, archivists, librarians, technologists, and legal experts. Beyond the primary mission of digitally preserving ethnographic field video, the EVIA Project has also invested significantly in the creation of software and systems for the annotation, discovery, playback, peer review, and scholarly publication of video and accompanying descriptions.
- Ethnomusicology: Global Field Recordings This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Presenting content from across the globe, this resource features audio field recordings and related materials such as interviews, field notebooks, slides, correspondence and ephemera.