Folklore & Mythology: Folklore Collections

Library of Congress collections related to folklore including the Alan Lomax, Omaha Indian Music, Quilts and Quiltmaking in America & more

Collection "documents various aspects of North Bay history, with a focus on beliefs, customs & folkways; place names & folk speech; historical characters, outlaws, miners & lumbermen; legends, tales & anecdotes; pioneer stories & personal reminiscences; and children’s lore & folklore"

Evald Tang Kristensen (ETK) Danish Folklore Collection includes English translations and mapping

Texts, images and recordings of Irish folklore, folk tales, music, custom & belief

1950-1960s records detailing British children's descriptions of "the many kinds of games they played, as well as rhymes, chants and songs, word play, sayings and jokes, game terminology, and beliefs and customs."

Kansas based collection with a "specific focus on folk music and folk lore."

Use the search box to find examples of folk art, material culture & other items

"Content includes songs, stories, verses, customs, beliefs, biographical information, place names, local history and instrumental music." Material in Gaelic, Scots and English.

42,000 folklore traditions taken from field notes gathered in the Detroit area describing "urban legends, ethnic jokes, songs from fraternities, sororities, and scouts, drinking games, graffiti, initiation pranks, superstitions, gestures, riddles, proverbs, customs, festivals and elder lore."

Focus on "Mormon folklore, the digital archive also houses significant collections of legends, customs, speech, beliefs, songs, material culture, tales and jokes, games, riddles, and personal narratives"

D. L. Ashliman's extensive collection of tales, myths, and legends from around the word, classified according to Aarne-Thompson-Uther.

Index to Hawaiian legends arranged by subject; some are linked to online versions

10,000+ popular folk tales from all over this world, in their original or a translation classified by ATU number

5000+ folktales & fairy tales from around the world plus annotated versions of 49 major tales

The California magazine of square and round dancing. Later title: Square Dancing.

More than 300,000 stories and interviews dating back to 2003

Images, video & audio documentation of oral histories and folk tales of a culture rich in oral traditions.

More than 5000 examples of folk art

Collection "consists of roughly 33,500 items, including photographs of folk artists and groups, posters, flyers, press clippings, correspondence, publicity information, audio." and more.

Collection of recordings of Beijing opera, folk songs, tea house songs, popular drama, and more

Documentary films about American folk art & culture

"North Carolina folk songs and stories from the golden age of field recording, 1914-1943"

Field recordings of Georgia folk musicians from 1890 to 1998

Chinese folk songs

8900+ images of folk art of all types

South Slavic heroic songs lyrics some with accompanying audio

This collection includes primary source materials documenting folklife and traditional arts and artists in Oregon and the Pacific Northwest.

Collection contains approximately 4000 transcriptions and over 4500 audio recordings documenting traditional music and associated materials from Arkansas and the Ozarks

An annotated source to folk song from the English-speaking world; provides information on where to find specific ballad