Research Guides
- University of Washington Libraries
- Library Guides
- UW Libraries
- Life Sciences Graduate Students - Research Tips
- Setting up Alerts (Ongoing Searches)
Life Sciences Graduate Students - Research Tips: Setting up Alerts (Ongoing Searches)
Database Alerts
Most databases and search engines offer the ability to set up ongoing searches and be alerted when new publications meet your search criteria. This requires creating a personal account on the platform hosting the database or search engine.
|
biomedical research and clinical studies |
|
|
biomedical research & clinical studies; detailed indexing of drugs, devices, & diagnostics; includes conference abstracts |
|
|
chemistry, chemical engineering, materials, biotechnology; includes patent publications |
|
|
engineering, computer science, materials, physics; includes technical reports & conference papers |
|
|
multidisciplinary sciences; citation analysis |
|
|
environmental science, energy; includes conference papers, technical reports, & dissertations |
Creating a PubMed Alert
After you have created your search strategy as shown on the previous page, you can save the search and have it run automatically to capture new articles on your topic.
In this case we're looking for articles on heart regeneration. Our search strategy is:
(heart OR cardiac OR cardiomyocyte* OR myocard*) AND (regenerat* OR regrow* OR "stem cell*")
When you have your search results, click on "Create Alert" under the search box. Follow the prompts to save the search in your MyNCBI account and set up email alerts.
Google Scholar Alert for Tracking Publications That Cite an Important Article
The Google Scholar search engine finds articles, preprints, dissertations, and other scholarly publications that cite a given article.
When you find an article in Google Scholar, click on "Cited by" underneath the reference to see publications that have cited it.
Click on "Create Alert" on the left side of the search results to receive an alert when new publications cite this article. You will need to create a free Google account in order to do this.
Unfortunately, if Google Scholar hasn't seen any citations yet, this kind of alert can't be set up here. You can set up a citation alert in Web of Science whether or not the article has been cited yet.
