All Libraries are open, with new expanded hours. Masks required, no eating allowed. Online resources and support are available 24/7
UW Libraries Operations Updates
The best way to find biographical dictionaries or biographies of specific modern Arabs is to search the catalog using subject headings. If you are working in the UW-only Catalog, change the default “Keyword” in the first box under Search to: “LC Subject”. If you are working in the Worldcat interface, precede your search by: "su:" "su:" forces Worldcat to search your phrase within subject headings instead as a group of separate keywords.
For individuals, use the formulas:
Name – Bio-bibliography
Nasser, Gamal Abdel
Bio-bibliography means the book will contain not only a biography, but a full bibliography of the person's works. Few exist for the Arab world, but those few are very useful.
For biographical dictionaries, use these headings as a starting point.
Authors, Arab – Biography
Authors, Arab – Bio-bibliography
Arab countries – Biography
Arabs – Biography
Lebanon - Biography (for Lebanon, substitute the region, i.e. Middle East, country, region within a country, i.e. Amil Mountains, Lebanon, or city of your choice)
Muslims – Biography
Poets, Arab – Biography
Politicians – Lebanon (substitute geographical entity) – Biography
The last two examples represent the category of “Profession” – Geographical entity – Biography. Feel free to substitute other professions.
Campbell, Robert B., 1926-
Aʻlām al-adab al-ʻArabī al-muʻāṣir : sīrah wa-sīrah dhātīyah / iʻdād Rūbirt B. Kambill al-Yasūʻī
Bayrūt, Lubnān : al-Maʻhad al-Alamānī lil-Abḥāth al-Sharqīyah, 1996
2 v. (1420 p.) : ports. ; 25 cm
Szref, szstx PJ7521 .C36 1996
Contemporary African writers / edited by Tanure Ojaide.
Detroit : Gale Cengage Learning, c2011.
xxiv, 432 p. : ill. ; 29 cm.
Dictionary of literary biography ; v. 360
Szref PN41 .D484 1978 v.360
Crosshatching in global culture : a dictionary of modern Arab writers : an updated English version of R.B. Campbell's "Contemporary Arab Writers" / edited by John J. Donohue and Leslie Tramontini.
Beirut : Orient-Institut der Deutschen Morgenländischen Gesellschaft ; Würzburg : Ergon in Kommission, 2004.
2 v. (xxiii, 1215 p.) ; 24 cm.
Szref, szstx PJ7521 C76 2004
Essays in Arabic literary biography / general editor, Roger Allen.
Wiesbaden : Harrassowitz, 2009.
3 v. ; 25 cm.
Vol. 3 covers 1850-1950
Szstx PJ7521 .E87 2009 v. 3
Moss, Joyce, 1951-
African literature and its times / Joyce Moss, Lorraine Valestuk
Detroit : Gale Group, c2000
xlv, 544 p. : ill. ; 29 cm
Boref, szref, taref PL8010 .M65 2000
Moss, Joyce, 1951-
Middle Eastern literatures and their times / Joyce Moss
Detroit : Thomson Gale, 2004
liii, 585 p. : ill., ports. ; 29 cm
Szstx, ugstx PJ307 .M67 2004
Twentieth-century Arab writers / edited by Majd Yaser Al-Mallah and Coeli Fitzpatrick.
Detroit : Gale Cengage Learning, c2009.
xxii, 391 p. : ill. ; 29 cm.
Dictionary of literary biography ; v. 346
Szref PN41 .D484 1978 v.346