Research Guides
SCAND 330: Scandinavian Mythology: Finding Articles
Bibliographic Databases
Bibliographic databases serve as entry points into scientific and scholarly literature, providing references to scholarly articles, but also to books and other content. Scholarly databases tend to be discipline-based, though some are interdisciplinary in scope. Such databases, and the records they contain, are assembled by information professionals, rather than being tracked down on the open web by a search engine.
Why databases?
Search in databases to identify articles, book reviews, books, and other resources relevant to a topic. A few reasons to use databases:
- Many databases include references to articles that are not to be found in UW Libraries Search (the preferred interface for books).
- Databases are often discipline-based, and allow searching of a body of work pre-defined by discipline rather than a hodgepodge of miscellaneous content.
- Advanced search features in databases allow precise, sophisticated search not possible with other tools.
- Database content is curated and more authoritative than information found on the open web.
Selected Databases
LITERATURE
- MLA International Bibliography This link opens in a new windowThe most comprehensive source for scholarship in literature, language, linguistics, and folklore.
- Motif-Index of Folk-Literature This link opens in a new windowLiterary reference for classifying narrative elements in folktales, ballads, myths, fables, and more.
MEDIEVAL PERIOD
- International Medieval Bibliography This link opens in a new windowScholarly journal articles and books covering all aspects of the European Middle Ages, 300-1500, including Norse history, archaeology, and culture.
- Iter: Gateway to the Middle Ages & Renaissance This link opens in a new window
Scholarly journal articles and books covering the European Middle Ages and Renaissance, 400-1700.
RELIGION
- ATLA Religion Database with ATLASerials PLUS This link opens in a new windowScholarly articles and other material related to all fields of religion, including Norse mythology and the Christianization of Scandinavia.