Research Guides
- University of Washington Libraries
- Library Guides
- UW Libraries
- Pacific Northwest Reference Collection
- Northwest Native Americans
Pacific Northwest Reference Collection: Northwest Native Americans
Northwest Native Americans
-
Uncommon Controversy; Fishing Rights of the Muckleshoot, Puyallup, and Nisqually Indians. A Report. by
Call Number: Special Collections PNW E78.W3 F73 1972Publication Date: 1972Subjects: Indians of North America -- Washington (State); Indians of North America -- Fishing; Indians of North America -- Economic conditions
Reflects the American Friends Service Committee’s record of the Indian position, feelings, and actions on Indian fishing rights. -
Dictionary of Indian Tribes of the Americas byCall Number: Special Collections PNW E54.5 .D52 1993Publication Date: 1993Subjects: Indians -- Encyclopedias
2nd ed.
Articles not signed
Some of the articles illustrated with useful maps
Includes bibliographies—some extensive -
Lushootseed Dictionary
by
Call Number: Special Collections PNW PM2263 .B37 1994Publication Date: 1994Subjects: Puget Sound Salish languages -- Dictionaries -- English; English language -- Dictionaries -- Puget Sound Salish languages -
Coast Salish and Western Washington IndiansCall Number: Special Collections PNW E78.W3 C62Publication Date: 1974Subjects: Salishan Indians; Indians of North America -- Washington (State), Western
5 volumes
v. 1 Indian Claims Commission, Introduction to the Ethnohistorical Reports on the Land Claims Cases; Background Material Showing Tribal Distribution in Washington in the early Nineteenth Century (map); Economic Life of the Coast Salish of Haro and Rosario straits
v.2 Investigation and Analysis of the Puget Sound Indians; Influence of White Contact on the Indians of Northern Puget Sound; Quileute Indians of Puget Sound; Medicine Creek Tribes; Snohomish Indian People
v.3Anthropological Investigation of the Makah Indians; History of the Neah Bay Agency; Anthropological Investigation of the Chehalis Indians; John Work on the Chehalis Indians; Aboriginal Population of Western Washington State; Handbook of Cowlitz Indians; Commission Findings, Indian Claims Commission
v.4 Structure of Twana Culture; Study of Religious Change Among the Skagit Indians of Washington
v.5 Commission Findings on the Coast Salish and Western Washington Indians, Indian Claims Commission -
Treaties on Trial: The Continuing Controversy over Northwest Indian Fishing Rights
by
Call Number: Special Collections PNW KFW505.6.H85 C64 1986Publication Date: 1986Subjects: Indians of North America -- Fishing -- Washington (State) -- Law and legislation -
The North American Indian, Being a Series of Volumes Picturing and Describing the Indians of the United States and Alaska by
Call Number: Special Collections PNW E77 .C98 1970Publication Date: 1970Subjects: Indians of North America; Indians of North America -- Languages
Some reproductions are better quality than others.
Special Collections has only the first volume of folio reprints. -
Bibliography and Index of Indian Tales in Manuscripts, Special Collections, University Archives, University of Washington Libraries byCall Number: Special Collections PNW E98.F6 E38 1993Publication Date: 1993
-
Dictionary of Native American Mythology
by
Call Number: Special Collections PNW E98.R3 G46 1992Publication Date: 1992Subjects: Indians of North America -- Religion -- Dictionaries
Includes all of North America
Articles not signed, sources given for some of the entries
Useful index by tribe includes bibliographic sources for that tribe -
Native Americans of the Northwest Coast: A Critical Bibliography by
Call Number: Special Collections PNW Z1209.2.N67 G78Publication Date: 1979Subjects: Indians of North America -- Northwest Coast of North America -- Bibliography -
Totem Poles: An Illustrated Guide
by
Call Number: Special Collections PNW E98.T65 H345Publication Date: 1981Subjects: University of British Columbia. Museum of Anthropology; Totem poles; Indian art -- Northwest Coast of North America -
Handbook of American Indians North of Mexico by
Call Number: Special Collections PNW E77 H68 1907Publication Date: 19122 volumes
Early version of Handbook of North American Indians
Dated, but each entry signed—several by experts.
Good to know about because often cited in early writings.
Bibliographies can be hard to decipher. -
Northwest Coast Indian Art; An Analysis of Form
by
Call Number: Special Collections PNW E78.N78 H6Publication Date: 1965Subjects: Indian art -- Northwest Coast of North America
Invaluable guide to the forms used in Northwest coast art.
Illustrated with copious examples of designs. -
Encyclopedia of North American Indians
by
Call Number: Special Collections PNW E76.2 .E53 1996Publication Date: 1996Subjects: Indians of North America -- Encyclopedias
Besides tribes, includes articles on themes, e.g. Beads and Beadwork, Astronomy
Biographies
Articles are signed, with short bibliographies -
Chief Seattle's Speech(es): American Origins and European Reception byCall Number: Special Collections PNW E90.S4 K34 1984Publication Date: 1984Subjects: Seattle, Chief, 1790-1866
Discusses the different versions of Seattle’s speech, with historical context -
Indian Treaties, 1778-1883 by
Call Number: Special Collections PNW KF8203 1972bPublication Date: 1972Subjects: Indians of North America -- Legal status, laws, etc. ; Indians of North America -- Treaties -
Reference Encyclopedia of the American Indian
by
Call Number: Special Collections PNW E76.2 .K54 2005Publication Date: 2005More like a directory than encyclopedia. Some of the most useful lists Included are lists of all reservations, casinos, organizations, and schools.
A biographical section is useful for contemporary figures. -
Political and Economic Aspects of Indian-White Culture Contact byCall Number: Special Collections PNW E78.W2 L36 1972Publication Date: 1972Subjects: Indians of North America -- Washington (State); Indians of North America -- Washington (State) --Government relations; Indians of North America -- Fishing -- Law and legislation
-
A Concise Dictionary of Indian Tribes of North America byCall Number: Special Collections PNW E76.2 .L44Publication Date: 1979Subjects: Indians of North America -- Dictionaries
Includes tribal groups only
Articles have short bibliographies, are not signed -
A Guide to the Indian Tribes of the Pacific Northwest
by
Call Number: Special Collections PNW E78 N77 R79 1992Publication Date: 2010Historical information concerning Indian tribes located in the Pacific Northwest. Major tribes described include the Cathlamet, Cowlitz, Klamath, Lummi, Nez Percé, Paiute, Puyallup, Shoshoni, Spokane, (Spokan), Suquamish, Tillamook.
Revised edition
One of best overview guides to PNW tribes
Bibliographies at the end of entries -
The Chinook Jargon and How to Use it; A Complete and Exhaustive Lexicon of the Oldest Trade Language of the American Continent by
Call Number: Special Collections PNW 970.7 Sh2Publication Date: 1909Subjects: Chinook jargon -- Glossaries, vocabularies, etc. -
Cedar: Tree of Life to the Northwest Coast Indians by
Call Number: Special Collections PNW E78.N78 S762 1984Publication Date: 1984Subjects: Indians of North America -- Antiquities -- Northwest Coast of North America; Cedar
Discusses importance of cedar to NW tribes, numerous drawings cover cedar in all aspects of native life from cloth to totem poles -
Totem Poles byCall Number: Special Collections PNW E98.T6 S74 1990Publication Date: 1990Subjects: Totem poles -- Northwest Coast of North America; Indian sculpture -- Northwest Coast of North America
Includes a section on interpreting the designs on poles, and descriptions of poles in different locations throughout the Northwest. -
Handbook of North American Indians
by
Call Number: Special Collections PNW E77 .H25Publication Date: 1978-2008Subjects: Indians of North America; Eskimos
NOTE: Northwest volumes only
Each volume was edited separately by an expert in that geographic area.
Articles are all signed.
Ranges from pre
Essays include notes to extensive bibliographies.
Special Collections has PNW volumes only:
v.5 Arctic
v.6 Subarctic
v.7 Northwest Coast
v.12 Plateau -
Atlas of the North American Indian
by
Call Number: Special Collections PNW E77 .W195 1985Publication Date: 1985Subjects: Indians of North America; Indians of North America -- Maps
Good for early settlement as well as information about Indians -
A Time of Gathering: Native Heritage in Washington State byCall Number: Special Collections PNW E78.W3 T56 1991Publication Date: 1991Subjects: Indians of North America -- Washington (State) -- Exhibitions; Indian art -- Washington (State) -- Exhibitions
Divided by Eastern and Western Washington Indian heritage
Includes an oral history account of a previously unrecorded Chief Seattle speech at the signing of the Mukilteo Treaty in 1855 -
Oregon Indians: Culture, History & Current Affairs, An Atlas & Introduction by
Call Number: Special Collections PNW E78.O6 Z8 1983Publication Date: 1983Subject: Indians of North America -- Oregon
Dated, but useful overview. Three sections: Traditional, Historical, Contemporary sections deal themes like Indian policy, fishing rights, land rights. Useful maps.
Guide Information
This guide includes commonly-used reference material held in Special Collections. This guide is divided into subject areas. Please search the Library Catalog below for other key reference sources that may not be contained in this list.