Research Guides
In text mining projects, APIs (Application Programming Interfaces) play a crucial role by providing access to vast repositories of textual data and powerful tools for analyzing, processing, and extracting insights from this data. APIs serve as bridges between software applications, allowing developers to interact with external services and databases seamlessly. By leveraging APIs, your text mining projects can harness the collective knowledge and resources available on the internet, including social media platforms, news outlets, academic databases, and more.
Description: Provides access to metadata and article abstracts for the e-prints hosted on arXiv.org.
Free/Paid? Free; No key required
Limitations: None
Help Contact: arXiv Help
More Information: arXiv Homepage
Description: Provides access to ADS database of bibliographic data on astronomy and physics publications
Free/Paid? Free; Key required
Limitations: Rate limits apply
Help Contact: adshelp@cfa.harvard.edu
More Information: https://github.com/adsabs/adsabs-dev-api
Description: Provides access both to metadata and full-text content for the 260,000 open access journals published on BioMed Central.
Free/Paid? Free; Key required
Limitations: None
Help Contact: info@biomedcentral.com
More Information: BioMed API Info Page
Description: Access to information about historic newspapers and select digitized newspaper pages.
Free/Paid? Free; No key required
Limitations: None
Help Contact: ndi@loc.gov
More Information: Chronicling America API Page
Description: Provides access to metadata records with CrossRef DOIs, covering about 75 million scholarly works from around 5000 publishers.
Free/Paid? Free; No key required
Limitations: None
Help Contact: tdm@crossref.org
More Information: CrossRef Documentation Page
Description: Provides metadata on items and collections indexed by the DPLA. Also includes partner data from Harvard, New York Public Library, ARTstor, and others.
Free/Paid? Free; Key required
Limitations: None
Help Contact: codex@dp.la ; Troubleshooting & FAQ
More Information: DPLA API Basics
Description: Provides bibliographic and rights information for items in the HathiTrust Digital Library. Please note that this API is not intended for bulk-retrieval of records.
Free/Paid? Free; no key required
Limitations: None; Permission must be sought for bulk retrieval
Help Contact: feedback@issues.hathitrust.org
More Information: HathiTrust Biographic API Page
Description: Provides access to HathiTrust and Google digitized texts of public domain works. Volumes digitized by Google will require agreement with Google.
Free/Paid? Free; Key required
Limitations: No specific limits, however please see their policies on data use
Help Contact: feedback@issues.hathitrust.org
More Information: Requesting and Using Research Datasets
Description: Not a true API, but provides access to content on JSTOR for research and teaching.
Free/Paid? Free; Requires MyJSTOR account registration
Limitations: Max 25,000 documents per dataset; users can get larger datasets by special request
Help Contact: Data for Research help
Description: Multiple APIs available to download bibliographic data and search Library of Congress digital collections, including images, public radio and television, and historic newspapers
Free/Paid? Free; Most APIs do not require key
Limitations: Varies
Help Contact: ndi@loc.gov
More Information: Data for Exploration
Description: Provides access to the Metadata and more than 460,000 open access full-text documents from Springer Nature.
Free/Paid? Free; Varied access requirement
Limitations: No specific limits, however downloads should be limited to “reasonable rates”
Springer Nature TDM Policy
Help Contact: tdm@springernature.com
More Information: Springer API Portal
Description: NLM offers 29 separate APIs for accessing a wide variety of content from various NLM databases.
Free/Paid? Free; Varied access requirement
Limitations: Varies
Help Contact: Varies
More Information: https://eresources.nlm.nih.gov/nlm_eresources/
Description: Several public APIs to access many databases and tools including PubMed, PMC, Gene, Nuccore and Protein.
Free/Paid? Free; Most APIs do not require key
Limitations: Varies
Help Contact: NCBI Help Manual
More Information: NCBI API Site
Description: Provides access to a selection of top used OECD datasets.
Free/Paid? Free; no key required
Limitations: Max 1,000,000 results per query, max URL length of 1,000 characters
Help Contact: OECD.Stats help
More Information: OECD data for developers
Description: Downloadable datasets for citations drawn from two large academic graphs: Microsoft Academic Graph and AMiner. (Not an API)
Free/Paid? Free; no key required
Limitations: None
Help Contact: None
More Information: Open Academic Graph
Description: Queries and searches the ORCID researcher identifier system and obtain researcher profile data
Free/Paid? Free; ORCID ID Account required
Limitations: Two options: 1) Users can access the free Public API, which only returns data marked as “public”; 2) Become an ORCID member to receive API credentials: see here
Help Contact: ORCID API FAQ
More Information: API Tutorial: Read Data on a Record s
Description: Oxford University Press grants research access to the Corpus for academic projects that can demonstrate a strong practical need for this data.
Free/Paid? Free; Key required. Academic researchers can request free access
Limitations: 3,000 request per month and 60 calls per minute with free option, other options available
Help Contact: API FAQ
Oxford Dictionaries Contact
API Forum
More Information: Oxford Dictionaries API
Description: Retrieves article-level metrics (including usage statistics, citation counts, and social networking activity) for articles published in PLOS journals and articles added to PLOS Hubs: Biodiversity.
Free/Paid? Free; Key required
Limitations: Results limited to batches of 50 at a time
Contact api@plos.org for high-volume use requests
Help Contact: api@plos.org
Questions can also be posted in Oxford Dictionaries Contact
PLoS API Google Group
More Information: PLOS Homepage
Description: Allows PLoS content to be queried for integration into web, desktop, or mobile applications
Free/Paid? Free; Key required
Limitations: Max is 7200 requests a day, 300 per hour, 10 per minute; users should wait 5 seconds for each query to return results; requests should not return more than 100 rows; high-volume users should contact api@plos.org; API users are limited to no more than five concurrent connections from a single IP address
Help Contact: api@plos.org
Questions can also be posted in Oxford Dictionaries Contact
PLoS API Google Group
More Information: PLOS API FAQ
Description: Provide access to World Bank statistical databases, indicators, projects, and loans, credits, financial statements and other data related to financial operations
Free/Paid? Free; no key required
Limitations: Request volume limits are unspecified, but should be “reasonable”
Help Contact: data@worldbankgroup.org
More Information: Developer Information
Description: Provides metadata and DOIs for IEEE Xplore articles.
Free/Paid? Cost negotiated per request
Limitations: Key required; Must subscribe to or be a member of an institution that subscribes to IEEE Xplore (UW subscribes)
Help Contact: onlinesupport@ieee.org
More Information: Getting Started with IEEE Xplore
Description: Bibliographic search service for displaying STAT!Ref results on a website.
Free/Paid? Free (with subscription)
Limitations: Free to register for users at a subscribing institution
Help Contact: onlinesupport@ieee.org
More Information: support@statref.com
Description: The Twitter API provides the tools you need to contribute to, engage with, and analyze the conversation happening on Twitter.
Free/Paid? Academic Research product track provides free access to the full history of public conversation
Limitations: Limitation might apply if using other tier of access. The academic research product allows for scrape with a higher monthly Tweet volume cap of 10 million
Help Contact: Twitter Help Topics
More Information: Twitter API v2
Description: Allows text- and data-mining access to content in the Wiley Online Library
Free/Paid? Free (with subscription)
Limitations: Must be part of a subscribing institution to have full text access. Users will encounter a click-through agreement and will receive a Client API Token, which is needed when requesting full text of articles
Help Contact: TDM@wiley.com
Wiley TDM help page
More Information: Wiley Text and Data Mining Agreement