Research Guides
South Asian Studies: Articles
South Asian Studies is the study of South Asian Countries - India, Pakistan, Bangladesh, Sri Lanka, Bhutan, Maldives and Afghanistan.
Find Article Databases by Title or Subject
This page offers access to databases that are starting points for finding articles relevant to the interdisciplinary study of Bangladesh, Bhutan, India, Nepal, Pakistan and Sri Lanka.
You may also want to explore this complete alphabetized list of all specialized databases for various subjects, available through the UW Libraries:
http://guides.lib.uw.edu/research/databases/
Or browse all available specialized databases by subject area:
South Asian Studies Research Resources
- Bibliography of Asian Studies This link opens in a new window
This link opens in a new window
English language publications in all subject areas, especially the humanities and the social sciences, related to East, Southeast, and South Asia.
- JSTOR
- This link opens in a new window
A subject searchable index of journals on-line with JSTOR. Retrieves full-text back files of scholarly journals, some of which date back to the 1800's. Does not include articles more recent than five years ago.
This page offers access to databases that are starting points for finding the articles relevant to the interdisciplinary study of Bangladesh, Bhutan, India, Nepal, Pakistan and Sri Lanka.
- South Asia Archive
- This link opens in a new window
The South Asia Archive provides online access to millions of pages of rare primary and secondary sources including vernacular materials from across the social sciences and humanities
- Foreign Office Files for India, Pakistan, Afghanistan, 1947-1982 This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Political and social history of India, Pakistan and Afghanistan through primary sources. - Project Muse This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
A subject searchable index of the Johns Hopkins University Press Journals on-line with Project Muse. Retrieves more than 5000 full text articles.
- IndiaStat
- This link opens in a new window
Statistical information on India from a variety of sources. Please click on "IP Login" in upper right hand corner to access the database after clicking on IndiaStat.
- Academic Search Complete This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Scholarly articles and general interest sources in all fields. - Annual Reviews This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Annual Reviews publications are among the most highly cited in the scientific literature; narrow by Social Sciences and specific academic disciplines. - Hindu Conspiracy Cases: Activities of the Indian Independence Movement in the U.S., 1908-1933 This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Department of Justice & other agency reports on the Hindu movement within the US. (Gale Archives Unbound) - India from Crown Rule to Republic, 1945-1949: Records of the U.S. State Department This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Reports, letters, and other primary sources on internal and foreign affairs during Indias first years of independence. (Gale Archives Unbound) - Afghanistan and the US, 1945-1963: Records of US State Department Classified Files This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Reports, letters, and other primary sources on US-Afghan internal and foreign affairs in the 20th century. (Gale Archives Unbound)
- East India Company, Module I: Trade, Governance and Empire, 1600-1947
- This link opens in a new window
Records include correspondence, trading diaries, minutes of council meetings, expedition reports & more covering the Indian subcontinent & other parts of Asia - Meerut Conspiracy Trial, 1929-1933
- This link opens in a new window
Documents relating to the arrest and trial of suspected communists & labor union activists in India - South Asian Women's Serials at the Library of CongressThis highlights women’s serials and ephemera available through our South Asia Ephemera Collection on Microfiche. This is a massive collection with other 2,000 parts covering a vast range of topics and languages.
Those included in the guide are related to gender and sexuality, and include searchable PDFs of the indexes.
More Databases
Additional Databases for South Asian Studies
- AnthropologyPlus This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Scholarly articles & other sources in the fields of anthropology, ethnology, archaeology, folklore and more. - EconLit This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Scholarly articles, books, dissertations, working papers and book reviews on economics. 1886-present. - Humanities & Social Sciences Index Retrospective This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Scholarly journal articles from humanities and social sciences, 1907-1984. - Historical Abstracts with Full Text This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Index and full text of scholarly articles covering world history (excluding U.S. and Canada) from 1450 to the present. - MLA International Bibliography This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
The most comprehensive source for scholarship in literature, language, linguistics, and folklore. - PAIS Index This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Social and public policy literature from periodicals, government documents, books, and other sources. - ATLA Religion Database with ATLASerials PLUS This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Scholarly articles and other material related to all fields of religion.
- Index Islamicus
- This link opens in a new window
RELIGIOUS STUDIES
Scholarly journal articles and books covering Islam and all aspects of the Muslim world. - Oxford Bibliographies -Hinduism
- This link opens in a new window
RELIGIOUS STUDIES
Scholarly Materials on Hinduism. - Oxford Bibliographies - Buddhism
- This link opens in a new window
RELIGIOUS STUDIES
Scholarly materials on Buddhism.
- Ethnic NewsWatch This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
DIASPORA STUDIES
Journal, magazine, and newspaper articles from ethnic and minority presses covering 1959-present; full-text - RILM Abstracts of Music Literature This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Publications on music from around the world, 1967 to present. Use the RILM Classifications to perform a broad topical search.
Search Google Scholar
(search results open in a new window)
UW Libraries on YouTube!
