Research Guides
- University of Washington Libraries
- Library Guides
- UW Libraries
- South Asian Studies
- History-South Asia : Primary Sources
South Asian Studies: History-South Asia : Primary Sources
South Asian Studies is the study of South Asian Countries - India, Pakistan, Bangladesh, Sri Lanka, Bhutan, Maldives and Afghanistan.
Archival Collections/Primary Sources
- History - South Asia/ Primary SourcesA comprehensive listing of primary sources for South Asian Studies.
- South Asia Open ArchivesSAOA is a free open-access resource for research and teaching -- a rich and growing curated collection of key historical and contemporary sources in arts, humanities and social sciences, from and about South Asia, in English and other languages of the region. SAOA’s collection contains hundreds of thousands of pages of books, journals, newspapers, census data, magazines, and documents, with particular focus on social & economic history, literature, women & gender, and caste & social structure
- Foreign Office FilesPolitical and Social History of India, Pakiistan and Afghanistan through Primary Resources.
- House of Commons Parliamentary Papers
This link opens in a new window
Encompasses all areas of social, political, economic, and foreign policy, showing how issues were explored and legislation was formed. HCPP includes digital versions of the sessional papers: Bills, House papers, and Command papers. - Meerut Conspiracy Trial - 1929-1923
- This link opens in a new window
Documents relating to arrest and trial of communists and trade unionists in India. They were suspected to be conspiring again the King of the sovereignty of British India. - Hindu Conspiracy Cases: Activities of the Indian Independence Movement in the U.S., 1908-1933
- This link opens in a new window
Department of Justice and other agency reports about Hindu movements in US.
- South Asia Archive This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
The South Asia Archive provides online access to millions of pages of rare primary and secondary sources from across the social sciences and humanities. - India, Raj & Empire This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Drawing upon the wonderfully rich and diverse manuscript collections of the National Library of Scotland this resource will be of great value to all those teaching or researching into the History of South Asia between the foundation of the East India Company in 1615 and the granting of independence to India and Pakistan in 1947.
- In the First Person : Index to Letters, Diaries, Oral Histories and Other Personal Narratives 1500-PresentIndexes more than 2,500 collections of oral history from around the world and will eventually cover letters, diaries, autobiographies and other first person accounts. Performs in-depth searching of materials available on the web and in Alexander Street Press databases. Coverage spans from the Protestant Reformation to the 2003 war in Iraq.
- Statistical Abstract Related to British India 1840-1920This historical data is available in digital book form as well as in Excel Spreadship form.
- Medical History of British IndiaThese rare documents, from our India Papers collection, consist of reports related to disease, public health and medical research between around 1850 to 1950,The India Papers at at the National Library of Scotland is an extensive collection of official publications from British India. The digitisation of the medical history volumes was funded by awards from the Wellcome Trust.
- The Imperial Gazetteer of IndiaThe Imperial Gazetteer of India was a gazetteer of the British Indian Empire, and is now a historical reference work. It was first published in 1881. Sir William Wilson Hunter made the original plans of the book, starting in 1869.