Skip to Main Content

bullhorn iconFor FAQs and current status of services and policies see UW Libraries Operations Updates

Research Guides

South Asian Studies: Repositories and Archives

South Asian Studies is the study of South Asian Countries - India, Pakistan, Bangladesh, Sri Lanka, Bhutan, Maldives and Afghanistan.

Repositories and Archives

Official Publications of India: Government Documents related to Pre- and Post - Independence India 

Sajjad Zaheer Digital Archive This online archive is a portal to the private collection of Syed Sajjad Zaheer (1905-1973), renown Urdu litterateur and political activist. As the personal and working archive of an author, activist and family member, this archive is a rich collection of materials from letters to manuscripts to photographs.  Highlights include items related to contemporaneous writers (including those affiliated with the Progressive Writers Association and the Afro-Asian Writers Association), politics (including the Rawalpindi Conspiracy and the Communist Party of India), and the Zaheer family (especially the works of Razia Sajjad Zaheer).  Materials are available in English, Urdu and Hindi.  

LUMS Digital Archive  The LUMS Digital Archive is a research repository that aims at collecting, cataloging and preserving rare material (books, pamphlets, newspapers and other items) of historical significance and making them available to researchers. In particular, the archive focuses on events, groups, movements and personalities relating to broader historical, political and cultural trends in South Asia, with an emphasis on preserving the accounts of marginalized and subaltern groups. Featured project include Partition Testimonies, Partition Abductions 1947, Punjabi Literary Journals, Reports on Anti Ahmadiyyah Violence and more.

The North East India Archive  Established in 2019, The Northeast India AV Archive aspires to lend itself to a deeper, more intricate understanding of our society’s sojourn through time and chart shifts in ideals, traditions and perhaps most importantly perspective. This archive has also been documenting Covid 19 and its impact on everyday lives.

Bhagat Singh Internet Archive :Bhagat Singh was an Indian revolutionary and a major figure in the Indian independence movement of the early Twentieth Century. Singh was active in revolutionary struggle from an early age and he was briefly affiliated with the Mohandas Ghandi’s “Non-Cooperation” movement, although Singh would break with Ghandi’s philosophy of non-violent resistance later in life.

South Asian American Digital Archive (SAADA) : SAADA digitally documents, preserves and shares stories of South Asian Americans. 

Manbendranath Roy Archive Internet Archive: Narendranath Bhattacharya, who later assumed the name Manabendra Nath Roy, was an Indian Communist leader. He was politically a product of militant nationalism which had emerged and crystallised in the Indian National Congress towards the end of the nineteenth century. M. N. Roy, a principal figure in revolutionary nationalism in his early years, eventually became the forerunner of Marxian politics in India.

South Asia Gender and Sexuality Archive: This archive documents and preserves the work of activists, grassroots organizations, and social justice movements committed to promoting the visibility and experiences of LGBTQAI+ people and women in South Asia and its diasporas. 

CrossAsia-Repository: This repository is a service of the University Library of Heidelberg, which within the scope of its special subject collection on Asian Studies funded by the German Research Foundation (Deutsche Forschungsgemeinschaft) offers members of the academic community worldwide the opportunity to publish their monographs, articles, lectures etc. in electronic format on the Internet at no charge.

Subject Guide

Profile Photo
Deepa Banerjee
Contact:
Room 138, Suzzallo Library !st Floor
206-685-1433