Skip to main content
Skip to primary content
Skip to sidebar content
University of Washington
Start Your Research
Articles & Research Databases
Literature on your research topic and direct access to articles online, when available at UW.
Alphabetical list of electronic journal titles held at UW.
Encyclopedias & Dictionaries
Resources for looking up quick facts and background information.
E-Newspapers, Media, Maps & More
Recommendations for finding news, audio/video, images, government publications, data sets and other types.
Librarian recommended resources & research tips tailored to your topic.
Citation Styles & Tools
Quick MLA, APA, and Chicago style guides for bibliographies; citation management software info.
Library materials reserved for your classes.
Collections & Archives
Unique online and physical collections on specific subjects, in distinct formats, and in special archives.
Mobile Search Tools
Mobile-optimized research databases and library-related mobile apps.
Use the Libraries
Your Library Account
Log in to renew borrowed materials, check on items you have requested, and pay fines.
Study & Meeting Spaces
Study, conference, event, and meeting spaces, and how to reserve them.
Computers & Printing
Computers, printers, and scanners in the Libraries.
Interlibrary Loan & Document Delivery Service
Get PDFs of print articles delivered via email and borrow items not held at UW.
Borrowing & Access
What you can check out from the Libraries, how long, renewals, and returns.
on using the Libraries
Help & Support
Examples of digital scholarship at the UW and where to get assistance with any phase of your project.
Short, simple how-to and demos of frequently asked questions about using the Libraries and information resources.
Graduate Funding Info Service
Assistance with locating funding for research, tuition, travel, and other graduate school-related expenses.
Off-Campus Access & Technical Support
Using library resources from off-campus and other technical tips.
Tools for archiving and publishing the products of your research, including data sets, monographs, images, articles, and reports.
Scholarly Publishing & Open Access
Info on your rights as an author and open-access publishing alternatives.
Collaborative library instructional services that can improve the research and information skills of your students.
Resources for Writing
Campus writing help and links to online resources.
Libraries & Hours
Contact info, map location, and hours for all library branches.
News Events Exhibits
What's going on at the Libraries: announcements, upcoming events, and current exhibits.
People & Programs
Staff directory and info about the Office of the Dean and other library departments.
Support the Libraries
Give to the Libraries! Join the Friends of the Libraries.
Info for users with disabilities about navigating the Libraries and its services.
Student, staff, and librarian job opportunities at the Libraries.
Libraries policies governing use of library resources, space, and services.
Current Libraries strategic goals and initiatives.
about the Libraries
Get help 24/7 with this real-time chat service.
Get answers to less-urgent questions and comments via email.
Reach us during regular business hours. Main: 206-543-0242
Click to chat now with a UW librarian
ways to contact us
Primary Sources by Region
Primary Sources: Northeast
Primary Sources: Midwest
Primary Sources: Southeast
Primary Sources: Southwest
Primary Sources: West
Primary Sources by Type
Primary Sources: 17th & 18th c.
Primary Sources: 19th c.
Primary Sources: 20th c.
Start Your Research
University of Washington Libraries
History : American
Primary Sources: 19th c.
History : American: Primary Sources: 19th c.
A research guide to primary and secondary sources for American history. Also see the African American & Asian American history guides.
Storming Fort Wagner
American Antiquarian Society
Avalon Project: Documents in Law, History and Diplomacy
Digital Public Library of America
Gilder Lehrman Institute of American History
Library of Congress Digital Collections
North American Women's Letters and Diaries
Women and Social Movements in the United States
African American Perspectives: Pamphlets from the Daniel A. P. Murray Collection, 1818-1907
Cornell University Collection of Political Americana
Disability History Museum Library
Emergence of Advertising in America: 1850-1920
Evolution of the Conservation Movement 1850-1920
Fenian Brotherhood Collection
Haymarket Affair Digital Collection
House of Refuge Records 1869-1902
Immigration to the United States 1789-1930
Mexican-American War and the Media
Promise of America: Norwegian Emigration to America
Studies in Scarlet: Marriage & Sexuality in the US and UK, 1815-1914
Votes for Women: Selections from the National American Woman Suffrage Association Collection
Women Working 1800-1930
Worlds & Works of the Nelson Brothers
19th Century: Newspapers & Magazines
African American Newspapers: The 19th Century
American Antiquarian Society Periodicals Collection
Atlanta Constitution 1868-1984
Broadsides & Ephemera
Campaign Dial 1864
Early American Newspapers Series II
New York Times 1851-2009
19th Century: People
Alexander Graham Bell Family Papers
Andrew Jackson Papers
Blackwell Family Papers
Booker T. Washington Papers
Clara Barton Papers
Franklin Pierce Papers
James Madison Papers
John Tyler Papers
Joseph Smith Papers
Journals of the Lewis and Clark Expedition
Life and Times of Florence Kelley in Chicago, 1891-1899
Martin Van Buren Papers
Roosevelt Center digital library
Theodore Roosevelt Collection Photographs
Thomas A. Edison Papers
Ulysses S. Grant Papers
Wiliam Henry Harrison Papers
William F. Cody Archive
William Steinway Diary: 1861-1896
Zachary Taylor Papers
Abolition of the Slave Trade
Born in Slavery: Slave Narratives from the Federal Writers' Project 1936-1938
African Americans and the End of Slavery in Massachusetts
Afro-Louisiana History and Genealogy
American Slavery Documents
Antislavery in New England
Atlantic Slave Trade and Slave Life in America: A Visual Record
Black Abolitionists Archive
Boston Public Library Anti-Slavery Collection
California Underground Railroad
Charles F. Heartman Manuscripts of Slavery Collection
DAACS :: Digital Archaeological Archive of Comparative Slavery
Digital Library on American Slavery
Friend of Man 1836-1842
From Slavery to Freedom: The African-American Pamphlet Collection, 1822-1909
Geography of Slavery in Virginia
Liberator Files 1831-1865
Lost Friends: Advertisements from the Southwestern Christian Advocate
Microfilm edition of the papers of the Maryland State Colonization Society
Nat Turner Project
North American Slave Narratives
North Carolina Runaway Slave Advertisements
Quakers & Slavery
Records of ante-bellum southern plantations from the Revolution through the Civil War
Revised Dred Scott Case Collection
Samuel J. May Anti-Slavery Collection
Slavery and the U.S. Supreme Court: The Amistad Case
Slavery in America and the World: History, Culture & Law
Slavery in New York
Slaves and the Courts
Texas Slavery Project
Unknown No Longer
Voices from the Days of Slavery
Voyage of the Slave Ship Sally: 1764-1765
Voyages: The Transatlantic Slave Trade Database
Event: Civil War
Abraham Lincoln Historical Digitization Project
Abraham Lincoln Papers
Alabama Civil War Newspapers
Becker Collection: Drawings of the American Civil War Era
Civil War in America from the Illustrated London News
Civil War Treasures from the New York Historical Society
Civil War on the Western Border
Civil War Washington
Collected Works of Abraham Lincoln
Crisis of the Union
Emilie Davis Diaries
Illinois Civil War Newspapers
Lincolniana at Brown
Martyred President: Sermons Given on the Occasion of the Assassination of Abraham Lincoln
Nettleton Civil War Letters
New South Newspaper
Papers of Abraham Lincoln
Pennsylvania Civil War Newspapers
Philip Henry Sheridan Papers
Richmond Daily Dispatch
Secession Era Editorials Project
Selected Civil War Photographs
Southern Homefront, 1861-1865
Thomas Winston Papers 1854-1927
Valley of the Shadow Project
Virginia Convention of 1861
War of the Rebellion: a Compilation of the Official Records of the Union and Confederate Armies
William T. Sherman Papers
Wisconsin in the Civil War
Wm. Oland Bourne Papers
Primary Sources: 17th & 18th c.
Primary Sources: 20th c. >>
Jan 18, 2018 10:46 AM
Login to LibApps
Report a problem.
American & Canadian Studies