Research Guides
- University of Washington Libraries
- Library Guides
- UW Libraries
- History : American
- Primary Sources: News, Magazines & Media
History : American: Primary Sources: News, Magazines & Media
A research guide to primary and secondary sources for American history. Also see the African American & Asian American history guides.
Images: Chicago Defender 9/10/1955, Variety 6/29/1966, Vogue 9/15/1926, Helix 9/26/1968 & Minidoka Irrigator 11/18/1944
Newspapers
This page includes links to UW restricted digitized historic newspapers and selected freely available digitized newspapers. To find additional state collections of newspapers, check the Primary Sources by Region. For other freely available digitized historic newspapers see ICON: International Coalition on Newspapers. For current newspapers check the eNewspapers guide.
Major collections:
- ProQuest Historical Newspapers This link opens in a new window
This link opens in a new window
Collection of 21 major newspapers covering the US (e.g., New York Times, Los Angeles Times, Washington Post), African American (e.g., Chicago Defender, Los Angeles Tribune, New York Amsterdam News) & international (Guardian, Times of India, Le Monde) - Access World News This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Primarily a current newspaper collection of regional, national, and international papers from 1980's-present. Also includes historic coverage of the Seattle Times, Seattle Post-Intelligencer, Tacoma News Tribune & the Oregonian.
- African American Newspapers of the 19th century This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- Atlanta Constitution 1868-1984
- This link opens in a new window
- Baltimore Afro American 1893-2010
- This link opens in a new window
- Boston Globe 1872-1993
- This link opens in a new window
- Chicago Defender 1909-2010
- This link opens in a new window
- Documenting White Supremacy and its Opponents in the 1920s
- This link opens in a new window
- Japanese-American Relocation Camp Newspapers: Perspectives on Day-to-Day Life This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- Los Angeles Sentinel 1934-2010
- This link opens in a new window
- Los Angeles Times 1881-2015
- This link opens in a new window
- New York Amsterdam News 1922-2010
- This link opens in a new window
- New York Times 1851-2020
- This link opens in a new window
- Oregonian 1861-
- This link opens in a new window
- Pacific Northwest Regional Newspaper & Periodical Index This link opens in a new window
- Pennsylvania Gazette 1728-1800
- This link opens in a new window
- Pittsburgh Courier 1911-2010
- This link opens in a new window
- Seattle Post-Intelligencer 1901-
- This link opens in a new window
- Seattle Times 1895-
- This link opens in a new window
- Tacoma News Tribune 1889-
- This link opens in a new window
- Wall Street Journal 1889-2012
- This link opens in a new window
- Washington Post 1877-2007
- This link opens in a new window
Magazines
This list includes links to digitized magazine collections, single magazines and indexes to 19th & 20th century magazines & journals.
- American Antiquarian Society Periodicals Collection This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- Business Periodicals Index Retrospective: 1913-1982 This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- Entertainment Industry Magazine Archive This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- Humanities & Social Sciences Index Retrospective This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- National Geographic 1888-2015
- This link opens in a new window
- News, Policy & Politics Magazine Archive (feat. Newsweek) This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- Rolling Stone Archive 1967-current
- This link opens in a new window
- Vital Speeches of the Day 1934-
- This link opens in a new window
Film, Radio & TV
This list includes links primarily to news & documentary oriented streaming media. For additional streaming media sources including documentaries see the Streaming Video Guide.
- 60 Minutes 1997-2005
- This link opens in a new window