Research Guides
- University of Washington Libraries
- Library Guides
- UW Libraries
- History : American
- Primary Sources: Books, Images & Maps
History : American: Primary Sources: Books, Images & Maps
A research guide to primary and secondary sources for American history. Also see the African American & Asian American history guides.
Images: 1907 Harvard football poster, 1960 photograph of two women selling Score magazine, 1623 map, Virginiae Item et Floridae Americae Provinciarum,
1899 portrait of Minnie Richards & 1930s era postcard of Rainier Vista
Digital Book Collections
For books available within the libraries, see Using the UW Libraries Catalog to Find Published Primary Sources on the Books as Primary Sources page.
- Early American Imprints
This link opens in a new window
- Eighteenth Century Collections Online This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- Twentieth Century Advice Literature: North American Guides on Race, Gender, Sex and the Family This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Historic Photographs & Images
For additional photograph collections focusing on specific states and cities, check the digital collections of major university and public libraries, state and local historical societies and the State library and archives.
Digitized Map Collections
Printed maps can be found in the Map Collection located on the ground floor of Suzzallo Library. The Map Collection has original copies of pre-1960 maps as well as a collection of historical atlases. Historic maps, as well as Krolls and Metsker atlases of the region, can also be found in Special Collections.