Social Work Toolkit

Social Work Focus

Additional Databases

Specialty Databases

Literature Review Sources

Laws & Regulations

• Congress.gov
  Current Congressional activities, including full text U.S. House and Senate bills, committee information and details of the legislative process.
• Revised Code of Washington (RCW)
• Washington Administrative Code (WAC)

Policy Organizations

• APHA (American Public Health Association) Policy Database
  Policy statements from 1948 onward.
• Center on Budget and Policy Priorities
  Non-partisan research and policy institute working on federal and state fiscal policies and public programs that affect low- and moderate-income Americans.
• Follow the Money
  The National Institute on Money in State Politics provides this "free, nonpartisan, verifiable archive of contributions to political campaigns in all 50 states", with an extensive range of searchable data and reports.
• Influencing Social Policy
  ISP is a nonprofit organization helping to prepare social work practitioners and students for an active role in shaping the social policies that impact their clients and communities.
• Kaiser Family Foundation
  KFF tracks trends in all areas of the national health landscape, many of which can impact Washington state. They offer alerts and in-depth analysis on a number of health policy topics.
• Social Work Policy Institute
  SWPI examines issues that relate to the work of social workers.

• APHA (American Public Health Association) Policy Database
  Policy statements from 1948 onward.
• Center on Budget and Policy Priorities
  Non-partisan research and policy institute working on federal and state fiscal policies and public programs that affect low- and moderate-income Americans.
• Follow the Money
  The National Institute on Money in State Politics provides this "free, nonpartisan, verifiable archive of contributions to political campaigns in all 50 states", with an extensive range of searchable data and reports.
• Influencing Social Policy
  ISP is a nonprofit organization helping to prepare social work practitioners and students for an active role in shaping the social policies that impact their clients and communities.
• Kaiser Family Foundation
  KFF tracks trends in all areas of the national health landscape, many of which can impact Washington state. They offer alerts and in-depth analysis on a number of health policy topics.
• Social Work Policy Institute
  SWPI examines issues that relate to the work of social workers.

• Measurement Tools
  Instruments used by researchers and practitioners to aid in the assessment or evaluation of subjects, clients or patients. The instruments are used to measure or collect data on a variety of variables ranging from physical functioning to psychosocial wellbeing. Types of measurement tools include scales, indexes, surveys, interviews, and informal observations.
• Qualitative Research
  Tips and information to guide you in your search for qualitative research articles through databases, such as PubMed and CINAHL.
• Finding drug information
  This guide provides background information about selected web-based drug information resources that can be used to answer specific questions you might have about medications, both prescription and over-the-counter as well as dietary supplements and herbals.
• How do I...?
  Common research & library tasks in short video tutorials and links to other help guides.

• Citation Style Guides:
  • AMA (American Medical Association)
  • APA (American Psychological Association)
  • Chicago
  • MLA (Modern Language Association)
  • More ...

Leah DeSantis, MLIS

Social Work and Research Impact Librarian

desa3413@uw.edu

Schedule a consultation