Research Guides
History : African American: Articles
A research guide to primary and secondary sources for African American history.
Find Articles on African American History
America History & Life is the best database to use when looking for academic journal articles in American and Canadian history.
- America: History & Life with Full Text This link opens in a new window
This link opens in a new window
Best database to articles written on African American history - Black Studies Center This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Multidisciplinary gateway to current scholarly and historical material on the Black experience in the United States, wider African diaspora, and the continent
Other Useful Databases
- JSTOR
- This link opens in a new window
- Oxford Bibliographies: African American Studies
- This link opens in a new window
- Oxford Bibliographies: Atlantic History
- This link opens in a new window
Using Databases to Find Articles
- How to search: Link your search terms using the AND connector. For example: "emmett till" AND "civil rights". You can also use separate search boxes for each term.
- Narrow your search results: Use the All filters option to filter your results by Publication date, Subject, Language & more
- Find full-text of article: Some articles have a direct link to the full text. These have buttons labeled Access now (PDF) or Access now (Online full text). Some articles do not have a direct link to the full text, these articles have a button labeled Access options. Click on the Access Options button and then click Check for full-text availability beyond Ebscohost. This will take you into UW Libraries search to see if we have the full text available through another source. If we do not have the full text, you will have an option to request an article scan.
Additional Help:
- How do I search in Academic Search Complete? This database is also provided by Ebscohost so searching information is similar.
- How do I find full-text articles in Academic Search Complete?
- What does the “Request Article” button mean? This shows you how to request an article scan when we do not have the full text on an article.