Skip to main content
Ask Us!
University of Washington Libraries

Library Guides

African American Research & Archival Collections in the Pacific Northwest Collection: Home

This guide highlights archival and printed materials, photographs, and moving image collections available in Special Collections that relate to Black communities, political groups, and civil rights movements in the Pacific Northwest.

Feature image

Anti-discrimination march at 5th and Pine, Seattle, June 15, 1963. (MOHAI, Photo by John Vallentyne)

Search for Archival Collections

Our Collection Guides search tool has migrated to Archives West.

Search for Library Materials

 

Advanced Search | FAQ | Known Issues

What's in the Guide

This guide highlights archival and printed materials, photographs, and moving image collections available in Special Collections that relate to Black communities, political groups, and civil rights movements in the Pacific Northwest. Selections from collections have been digitized and linked from this website or the finding aids/collection guides we name.  Use the tabs above to explore personal and family papers, organizational records, photographs, moving images, books, pamphlets and more. 

This guide does not attempt to be an exhaustive list of resources held on this topic, and many other books and research materials are available. Search our Archives West database.  If you need research assistance, contact Special Collections to explore ways to find materials for your research question. 

Long Shadows of Seattle Podcast

The Long Shadows of Seattle is a podcast series that explores the stories of important people that made an impact on Seattle's history of racial justice and political activism. Using collections from the University of Washington Libraries' Special Collections, host Stellan Harris guides you through the lives of some of Seattle's hidden figures.

Pacific Northwest Curator

Anne Jenner's picture
Anne Jenner
Contact:
Special Collections
Allen Library South, Lower level
(206) 685-2856
Website

Special Collections is the UW Libraries' major resource for rare and archival materials covering a broad range of topics, formats, and periods. The Special Collections reading room, located on the lower level of Allen Library South, is open to the public on weekdays

Major collecting areas are overseen by curators/archivists.

Pacific Northwest Collections
University of Washington Archives
‚ÄčLabor Archives of Washington
Washington State Jewish Archives
Book  Arts & Rare Books
Digital Collections
Historical Visual Materials
History of Science and Medicine

UW Libraries | UW Bothell/CC Campus Library | UW Tacoma Library | Health Sciences Library | Gallagher Law Library
Responsible Use of Electronic Resources | Privacy | Terms