Research Guides
- University of Washington Libraries
- Library Guides
- UW Libraries
- ENG 298 A: Writing Links with Communication 200
- Find: Magazine Articles, News Stories, & Public Opinions
ENG 298 A: Writing Links with Communication 200: Find: Magazine Articles, News Stories, & Public Opinions
Research guide supporting English 298 A
News Stories
- Access World News This link opens in a new window
This link opens in a new window
Local, national, and international newspapers, 1980s-current. - Global Newsstream This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Current international, national, and local newspapers, 1980s-current. - US Newsstream This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Local and national newspapers, 1980s-current. - Alt-PressWatch This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Selected newspapers, magazines, and journals of the alternative and independent press. - Ethnic NewsWatch This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Journal, magazine, and newspaper articles written primarily by Black, Indigenous, Latinx, Asian & Pacific Islander, and Jewish people, covering 1959-present.
- See the News Research Guides for more news databases....The UW Libraries subscribes to many more news databases that include current and historic news ...
Trade Publications & Magazines
- Academic Search Complete This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Scholarly articles and general interest sources in all fields. - Business Source Complete This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Magazines, newspapers and journals in all business disciplines. - Communication Source This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Scholarly journal articles in communication, mass media and related fields. - Education Source This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Education related scholarly and popular articles.
Public Opinion
Public opinions are opinions that people are willing to share with others. People may share their opinions in many different ways including answers to questions asked in a poll or survey, letters that they write and submit to editors of magazines and newspapers, comments that they post online, speeches delivered to groups of people, etc.
Polls & Surveys:
- Roper iPoll This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
US national opinion surveys, 1935 - present. Includes data from academic, commercial, and media survey organizations such as Gallup, Harris Interactive, Pew Research, and more. From the Roper Center for Public Opinion Research. UW is a member of the Roper Center.
- Pew Research CenterNon-partisan research center that conducts research, publishes data, and conducts public opinion polls about politics, media & news, social trends, religion, internet & technology, and more....
Letters to the Editor:
Most newspapers and some magazines print letters written by readers that respond to or comment on stories published in the publication. The way newspapers refer to these sections of the newspaper vary: editorial, opinion, commentary, etc. Add these words to your search to limit to these types of letters and stories in a paper.
Search example: trump AND journalis* AND (editorial OR commentary OR opinion)
See the News Stories box above for databases that you can search to find letters to the editors of newspapers.
How do I find the article if it's not in the database?
“Founding Fathers Got It Right on Press Freedom: By Gordon H. Smith, National Association of Broadcasters.” Broadcasting & Cable, vol. 148, no. 19, Oct. 2018, p. N.PAG. EBSCOhost, offcampus.lib.washington.edu/login?url=http://search.ebscohost.com/login.aspx?direct=true&db=ufh&AN=132198691&site=ehost-live.
The UW Libraries subscribes to many databases because they do not include the same publications. The publishers decide which databases may include the full text of their articles. If a database does not provide the full text of the article that you need, select a button:
or 
These buttons will search to see if the Libraries has the article online in a different database and, if we don't, see if the magazine is available in paper.
If the Libraries does not have the item that you need, borrow it for free through Interlibrary Loan.