Library Guides: TCOM 480 Critical Media Industry Studies--Nichols: Getting Started

UW Libraries Search with Tips

Tips for Searching:

Once you've run a search, use the "Refine My Results" options on the left side of the page. It's a quick way to drill down to the most useful results without paging through a lot of items you're not really interested in. Options often include:

Resource type (examples: book, article)
Library (example: UW Tacoma)
Creation date
Language
Topic
Classification LCC (Library of Congress call numbers)

Encyclopedias

Encyclopedia of Media and Communication

The most coherent treatment yet of these fields, the Encyclopedia of Media and Communication promises to be the standard reference text for the next generation of media and communication students and scholars.

Encyclopedia of American industries

Provides detailed, comprehensive information on a wide range of industries in every realm of American business.This includes printing, publishing & allied industries.

Encyclopedia of emerging industries.

Provides information about the inception, emergence and current status of new and established industries and business segments that are pioneering new technologies, introducing break-through marketing strategies or implementing innovative means of serving new markets.

Encyclopedia of global industries.

Chronicles the history, development and current status of the world's most lucrative and high profile industries. Each entry covers size and economic/social impact of the industry; its organization and structure; its history and development; major countries and companies involved (including rankings); size and nature of the work force; and research.

Encyclopedia of Global Brands (2013)

Contains 270 entries, written in case-study style, that highlight interesting details including how a product originated and was first marketed, how it developed commercially and how it fares today compared with its competitors and its own past history.

Market Share Reporter: Trends Over Time

Covers 50 key industries (and the companies and products therein) throughout the world (including but not limited to the US, Canada, Mexico, Europe and Asia).

Chat

Featured Books

Handbook on the Economics of the Media by Robert G. Picard; Steve S. Wildman
'At a time of growing interest in economic aspects of media, this edited volume presents a comprehensive and timely set of perspectives on key sectors of media and media infrastructures and related economic questions.
The Handbook of Political Economy of Communications by Janet Wasko; Graham Murdock; Helena Sousa
"The Handbook of Political Economy of Communications" offers students and scholars a comprehensive, authoritative, up-to-date and accessible overview of key areas and debates.
The Economics of the Audiovisual Industry by Mario La Torre
This book explains why the distance between the audiovisual and financial markets exists, and considers the perspective of both audiovisual companies and financial intermediaries.

Reference (Online)

Gale Directory Library This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Online directories including Business Rankings Annual, Encyclopedia of Business Information Sources, and Market Share Reporter.
Gale Ebooks This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Full text encyclopedias in all subject areas
International Directory of Company Histories This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Concise histories of over 8,500 companies; the companies may appear in more than one volume
Sage Reference Online This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Encyclopedias and handbooks on many subjects.