TCOM 480 Critical Media Industry Studies--Nichols: Labor Information
Industry Codes
The two industry classification systems you will come across most often are NAICS and SIC. Both are hierarchical, organized by broad industry categories, each divided into more specific industries.
Look up the code for your industry:
- NAICS (North American Industry Classification System)Developed in 1997, by Canada, the United States and Mexico. Industry codes are from 2-6 digits long. TIP: Search under Sector 51: Information.
- SIC (Standard Industrial Classification)An older industry classification system. NAICS was intended to replace SIC, however, some resources still use SIC codes to classify information. TIP: Search under Major Group 48: Communications.
- NIACS AssociationNIACS and SIC codes can also be searched via the user-friendly NIACS Association Code Identification Tool.
Trade Publication Databases
Trade publications focus on one industry and provide in-depth information on trends, new products and other topics of interest to people working in that industry.
TIP: In EBSCO-hosted databases (Business Source Complete, Academic Search Complete, etc.), limit your search to Trade Publication under Publication Type.
- Academic Search Complete This link opens in a new window
This link opens in a new window
Scholarly articles and general interest sources in all fields. - Business Journals This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
News from U.S. regional business newspapers, including the Puget Sound Business Journal and Book of Lists. Husky OnNet is required for off-campus access. - Business Source Complete This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Magazines, newspapers and journals in all business disciplines. - Communication Source This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Scholarly journal articles in communication, mass media and related fields. - MasterFILE Premier This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Popular magazines and scholarly journals in all subject areas.
Employment and Labor Statistics
- BLS | Occupational ProfilesProfiles for Arts, Design, Entertainment, Sports, and Media Occupations.
- BLS | Industries at a GlanceWorkforce Statistics; Earnings and Hour; Fatalities, Injuries, and Illnesses; and Workplace Trends by industry (NAICS 51 - Information)
- BLS | Current Employment Statistics - CES (National)Current Employment Statistics survey of payroll records covers over 390,000 businesses on a monthly basis and provides detailed industry data on employment, hours, and earnings of workers on nonfarm payrolls for the nation.
- BLS | Employment & Wage Estimates (2019)May 2019 National Occupational Employment and Wage Estimates in the United States.
- Occupational Outlook HandbookJob overviews and career guide from the Bureau of Labor Statistics
- Statistical Abstract of the United States This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Social, political, and economic statistics of the United States.
- U.S. Census BureauThe Census Bureau serves as the leading source of quality data about the nation's people and economy.
- Data.govSource for raw data, including 5 pages on data sets on labor and employment.
- State Employment SitesList of agencies by state that conduct studies, publish labor market statistics, and often enforce occupational safety regulations.
Trade Association and Union Resources
Encyclopedia of associations. National organizations of the U.S. by
A comprehensive source for detailed information on over 24,000 nonprofit American membership organizations of national scope.
- Entertainment Industry Associations, Guilds, and UnionsList of related associations, organizations, guilds, and unions developed by the California Film Commission.
- Directory of AssociationsDirectory of 35,000+ local, regional, national and international associations. Information is searchable for free, but additional analytical information may cost a small fee.
- Trade Unions & Associations List (2018)Document containing an updated list of Trade Unions and Employers' Associations by the Department of Industrial and Employment Relations.
- UnionReports.gov (U.S. Office of Labor Management Standards)Contains occupational wage data for 161 occupations in over 150 countries from 1983 to 2003.
- Union Membership and Coverage DatabaseProvides private and public sector labor union membership, coverage, and density estimates compiled from the Current Population Survey (CPS), a monthly household survey, using BLS methods.