Research Guides
ENGL 199C / ENVIR 100: Interdisciplinary Writing/Natural Science (Aktas): Background Sources
Why Use Background Sources?
Encyclopedias help you figure out the who, what & where of a topic. Knowing the who, what & where of a topic is the first step in researching a topic and discovering the "how" and "why". Encyclopedias and dictionaries can provide background information and can be used to identify key people, events and dates which can then be used as search terms for finding additional information. Many also provide a jumpstart on your research by listing related readings. Both print and online encyclopedias are listed below.
Useful online encyclopedia collections: Gale Ebooks, Sage Reference Online, & Oxford Reference Online.
Background Sources - Environment
- Encyclopedia of Environmental Change
This link opens in a new window
- Encyclopedia of Environmental Issues
- This link opens in a new window
- Encyclopedia of Global Environmental Change
- This link opens in a new window
- Encyclopedia of the U.S. Government and the Environment
- This link opens in a new window
- Environmental Leadership: A Reference Handbook
- This link opens in a new window
- Oxford Handbook of Environmental History
- This link opens in a new window
- Research Handbook on Human Rights and the Environment
- This link opens in a new window
- Routledge Handbook of Environmental Justice
- This link opens in a new window
- Routledge Handbook of Environment and Communication
- This link opens in a new window
- Routledge Handbook of Gender and Environment
- This link opens in a new window
