Research Guides
South Asian Studies: Home
South Asian Studies is the study of South Asian Countries - India, Pakistan, Bangladesh, Sri Lanka, Bhutan, Maldives and Afghanistan.
Welcome!
Starting Points / Top Resources
- JSTOR This link opens in a new window
This link opens in a new window
Scholarly journals and books in all disciplines. - Bibliography of Asian Studies This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
English language publications in all subject areas, especially the humanities and the social sciences, related to East, Southeast, and South Asia. - Academic Search Complete This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Scholarly articles and general interest sources in all fields.
- South Asia Open ArchivesSouth Asia Open Archives open-access resource for key historical and contemporary sources from and about South Asia, in English and other languages of the region.
- South Asia Archive This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Rare primary and secondary sources including vernacular materials from across the social sciences and humanities. - Foreign Office Files for India, Pakistan, Afghanistan, 1947-1982 This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Political and social history of India, Pakistan and Afghanistan through primary sources.
- East India Company, Module I: Trade, Governance and Empire, 1600-1947
- This link opens in a new window
Records include correspondence, trading diaries, minutes of council meetings, expedition reports & more covering the Indian subcontinent & other parts of Asia
South Asian Studies Librarian
Click to Chat with a Librarian
Related Links & Guides
- South Asian Cooperative Collection Development WorkshopsThrough the South Asia Cooperative Collection Development Workshops, the community of South Asian library specialists in North America shares a collective vision of a seamless global collection of South Asian research resources to support and enhance scholarship.
Through concerted action (and informed by local and institutional strengths, priorities, and expertise), we seek to broaden both the scope and depth of coverage of South Asian resources, spanning all subjects and formats.
By building distributed distinctive collections, reinforced by preservation and appropriate mechanisms for discovery and access, we seek to affect the future of academic research, teaching, and learning on this critical world region