English language publications in all subject areas, especially the humanities and the social sciences, related to East, Southeast, and South Asia. Links to full-text if available through other UW-subscribed databases; otherwise provides index references only.
Academic Journals (mainland China; post-1949 or general)
If you're not logged-in, please click on the “首页” button to return to the home page. Then, try clicking the “IP登录” button.
Chinese-language journals from mainland China, covering literature, history, philosophy, economics, politics, law, and education. Sections F, G, H, & J only. See User Guide.
To switch to an English language interface, use the pull-down language menu in the top right corner.
A database of the literary journal Zhaiyi, which was "internally published" from 1973 to 1976 and presented translations, synopses, criticism and news summaries of works of fiction, film, theater, and poetry from the USSR, US, and Japan. Compiled by the Institute of Chinese Studies, Heidelberg University. Free but requires registration.
An index, with article abstracts, of over 300 Chinese language and bilingual social science and humanities journals published in Hong Kong and Macau. Most journals are indexed from 1980 only, but some more important journals ones are indexed from their first issue, in some cases dating to the 19th century. Maintained by the libraries of the Chinese University of Hong Kong and University of Macau.
Provides bibliographic information on periodicals, newspapers and communiques published in Taiwan, as well as various academic journals published in Hong Kong and Macao and selected newspapers and periodicals published in mainland China before 1945. Does not index individual articles contained in these publications. Search interface available in Chinese and English. Produced by the National Central Library.
Includes various (i) journals, newspapers, and essays published in Taiwan from 1945 to 1948; (ii) journals, newspapers, collections of papers and dissertations published in Taiwan from 1949 to 1979; and (iii) journals and collections published internationally from 1949 to 1979. Produced by the National Central Library (NCL), based on the "Chinese Culture Research Papers Catalogue" jointly edited by the Chinese Culture Renaissance Movement Promotion Committee and the NCL.
National Central Library index to academic journal articles published in Taiwan, drawn from over 5,500 journals. Full-text articles are available for some journals. Formerly known as Periopath: Index to Taiwan Periodical Literature System 臺灣期刊論文索引系統.
Provides an index of Chinese language humanities and social journals journals (from the year 2000), dissertations, monographs, and conference proceedings published in Taiwan (or in some cases elsewhere), with citation and impact metrics. Produced by the National Central Library and its partners.
Several subject databases, including Full-text Database of CCS Publications, Database of CCS Collections, Foreign Sinologists Dissertation Abstracts Database, Bibliography of Research on the Classics, and Bibliography of Tun-huang Studies etc. Both single and cross-database search interfaces available.
Pre-1949 Chinese-language magazines and xiaobao 小報 (entertainment newspapers) and some China-based foreign-language newspapers. Combines the following databases: 1. “Chinese Women’s Magazines in the Late Qing and Early Republican Period” (WoMag); 2. Xiaobao; 3. Modern History Databases 近代史數位資料庫; 4. Funü zazhi 婦女雜誌 (Women's Magazine)
Free database providing digital facsimiles (not full-text searchable) of various late Qing period periodicals held by Taiwan's National Central Library. Current titles include 點石齋畫報, 新新小說, and 游戲世界; others are being added.
An open access database providing a large number of books, newspapers, and magazines, and a smaller number of archival documents, images, and audiovisual materials, mostly from the first half of the 20th century. Materials relate to many topics, not just the second Sino-Japanese War and modern Sino-Japanese relations. It includes many literary works from the period. Individual registration is required to download materials (as JPG files). Some types of sources are searchable by tables of contents; none support full-text search.
“NDLTD-Taiwan“ is the only system that has consistently collected theses and dissertations of colleges and universities in Taiwan from 1956 to the present, covering the disciplines of the sciences, engineering, agriculture, medicine, the humanities and social sciences and continues to promote the concept of free access to unauthorized materials.
"China Conference Proceedings Database"
Full-text, abstract and other descriptive information of papers from Chinese-language conferences from 1982 onward, and papers from foreign language conferences worldwide (accessed via the National Science and Technology Library database), beginning from 1985. Produced by Wanfang Data 万方数据.