Skip to Main Content
All Libraries are open with limited hours. Masks required, no eating allowed. Online resources and support are available 24/7 UW Libraries Operations Updates
Film Archives & Archiving
Moving Image Archives News
A Clearinghouse of Information on Film Archiving and Related Endeavors
Searchable catalog of information of flims archives from all over Europe. Multi-lingual web portal film works, searchable by content, filmographic details and physical characteristics. Many more features. Some films have been digitized and are accessible via this website. Focus is on documentary, educational, news reel and travelogue films, among other non-fictional film types.
Public Moving Image Archives and Research Centers
National Film Preservation Board's directory to international film archives and research centers.
Reframe: Research in Media, Film and Music
Reframe is an open access academic digital platform for the online practice, publication and curation of internationally produced research and scholarship, in the areas of film, media and music.
The Survival of American Silent Feature Films: 1912-1929
This report, written by David Pierce and made to the Library of Congress and the Council on Library and Information Resources, was commissioned by the National Film Preservation Board.
The report lists all silent films from the period known to have survived, as well as the 11,000+ feature films known to have been produced. Over two thirds of the films have not been found. For location information on the archival film holdings identified by Pierce, see: