Research Guides
Forest Sciences: Images & Film
Guide to information in forest sciences subject areas.
Environmental Films
- Environmental Science @ Films On DemandFilms Media Group streams documentary films and series through its Films On Demand service. Content covers a wide variety of subjects, from Anthropology to World Languages. The UW Libraries has licensed 100+ titles including some in Environmental Sciences.
- Environmental Studies in Video
This link opens in a new window
Environmental Studies in Video from Alexander Street Press covers all realms of environmental studies, particularly ethics, policy, economics, law, sociology, planning, and environmental science. Films were produced from 1970 to the present, and address specific topics including alternative energy, pollution control, eco-design, sustainability, farming and agriculture, the food industry, LEED certification, waste issues, and climate change. - JoVE: Journal of Visualized Experiments
JoVE provides peer-reviewed video and text of biological, medical, chemical and physical research, with an emphasis on methods video. The scope of the journal includes novel techniques, innovative applications of existing techniques, and gold standard protocols in the physical and life sciences. - TED : Environment Collection"TED is a nonprofit devoted to spreading ideas, usually in the form of short, powerful talks (18 minutes or less). TED began in 1984 as a conference where Technology, Entertainment and Design converged, and today covers almost all topics — from science to business to global issues — in more than 100 languages." Their Environment Collection contains over 70 talks.
Science
- Forestry ImagesHealth, natural resources, and silviculture images including forest pests, trees, and stand types, silvicultural practices, invasive organisms, forest plants, wildlife, and other scenes. Joint project of the Bugwood Network and the USDA Forest Service, and the University of Georgia.
- Forest History Society Photograph CollectionA rich collection of over 30,000 photos, slides, negatives, plates, and films documenting the history of human interaction with the environment. Indexed by subject, the main collection covers a wide array of topics while focusing on the history of forests, the forest products industry, the U.S. Forest Service, and lumbering and saw-milling practices. The majority of the collection consists of black-and-white prints taken in the United States from the 1920s to the 1960s.
- Earth Science WorldAmerican Geological Institute's collection of archaeological, geological, environmental, geophysical, and other images. Also includes plants, animals, and weather and satellite images.
- U.S. Fish & Wildlife Service National Digital LibraryCollection of over 6,000 nature and wildlife photos provided by the U.s. Fish & Wildlife Service. Includes birds, plants, habitats, environmental sciences, wildlife refuges, and more.
- Repeat Photography ProjectThe Repeat Photography Project showcases forestry-related sequences of photographs over time. Repeat photography, the art of taking photographs of a specific location at two or more different times, is a powerful visual resource for scientific study and education in forest and landscape management. The project is a collaboration between The Forest History Society and several other organizations.
Image Databases Available from the UW Libraries
The UW Libraries provides access to the following image databases and collections. Please log in for off-campus access to UW restricted resources.
- Artstor This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
This link opens in a new window
Image library of nearly one million images in the areas of art, architecture, the humanities, and social sciences. Broad coverage of visual culture from many time periods and areas of the world, including architecture, painting, sculpture, photography, decorative arts, design, anthropology, ethnographic and women's studies, and more.
*ARTstor requires all users to register and log in to download images.
- UW Digital CollectionsPhotographs, documents, and audiovisual resources from the UW Libraries, UW faculty and departments, and from UW collaborators.
- UW Libraries Historical Visual Materials CollectionsResearch materials from the UW Libraries Special Collections, including photographs, architectural plans, postcards, historical maps, artwork and ephemera. Most of the items relate to various aspects of the Pacific Northwest, its history, geography, arts, and industries.
Citing Images
Images must be cited like all other resources. If you use an image you did not create, you must provide a citation. Images should be cited in all cases, even if the image is very small, or in the public domain. The citation should be accessible in the context of the image's use (within a Powerpoint presentation, on a web page, in a paper, etc.).
Image citations should include the following information at a minimum:
- Title
- Creator name
- Repository information (museum, library, or other owning institution)
- Image source (database, website, book, postcard, vendor, etc.)
- Date accessed
It is also useful to include date, culture, and rights information, if known.
Citations can be formatted according to the citation style you are using.
Hoodoos in Crater National Park
 Hoodoos in Crater Lake National Park, Oregon, Bruce Molnia, Terra Photographics. Image source: Earth Science World |