Skip to main content
American Memory Project
A multimedia website of digitized historical documents, photographs, sound recordings, moving pictures, books, pamphlets, maps, and other resources from the Library of Congress. More than 100 collections and 9 million individual items are available.
Abbas, Dried Onions,
Mali, 2002. Image
British Library Images Online
Provides access to millions of images from the British Library's collections, including manuscripts, rare books, maps, drawings, photographs, and paintings.
Library of Congress Prints & Photographs Reading Room
Provides access to about one million digital images within the collection of the Library of Congress' Prints and Photographs Division. Includes architectural and historical images.
LIFE photo archive
Millions of photographs from the LIFE photo archive, stretching from the 1750s to today. Most were never published and are now available for the first time through the joint work of LIFE and Google.
NYPL Digital Gallery
Primary sources and printed rarities in the collections of The New York Public Library, including illuminated manuscripts, vintage posters, rare prints and photographs, ephemera, and more.
NYPL Mid-Manhattan Library Picture Collection Online
Digitized images from books, magazines and newspapers, as well as original photographs, prints and postcards, held by the New York Public Library Mid-Manhattan Library.
Online Archive of California
Provides access to an array of historical materials from a variety of California institutions, including museums, historical societies, and archives.
World Digital Library
Cultural images from around the world, sponsored by the United Nations Educational, Scientific, and Cultural Organization.
Images for educational use from the California State University IMAGE project. Includes broad subject coverage, from art and architecture to science and technology, portraits, maps, and the natural world.
Yale University Digital Commons
Yale's digital collections, including images from the Peabody Museum, Center for British Art, University Art Gallery, Library Map Collection, and Walpole Library Prints and Drawings. May 2011 announcement from Yale Office of Public Affairs (http://opac.yale.edu/news/article.aspx?id=8544) indicates all public domain material is available for open access and use without license fees.
Yale University Library Digital Collections
Images from the library's digital collections, including Beinecke Rare Books and Manuscripts, Silk Road Database, Ross Archive of African Images, Manuscripts and Archives, Classics Department, and more.
Infographics on a wide range of topics.