Research Guides
Jewish Studies: Hebrew Bible
This page offers the top recommended resources for this subject.
Editions of the Hebrew Bible
Biblia Hebraica Stuttgartensia. Gesamtausgabe in einem Band by Call Number: Suzzallo and Allen Libraries: szstx or szref; BS715 1990ISBN: 3438052180Publication Date: Stuttgart : Deutsche Bibelgesellschaft 1990.
Biblia Hebraica Leningradensia by Call Number: Suzzallo and Allen Libraries: szstx Stacks; BS715.5 .L46 2001ISBN: 1565630890Publication Date: Peabody, MA : Hendrickson Publishers, ©2001The most accurate edition of the Leningrad Codex in print, the "Biblia Hebraica Leningradensia" presents a thoroughly revised, reset, and redesigned edition of the Hebrew Bible.
Biblia sacra utriusque testamentiCall Number: Suzzallo and Allen Libraries: szstx Stacks; BS3.5 1994ISBN: 3438052504Publication Date: Stuttgart : Deutsche Bibelgesellschaft, ©1994
The Interlinear Hebrew-English Old Testament by Call Number: Suzzallo and Allen Libraries: szref First Floor Reference; BS715 1987ISBN: 0310442206Publication Date: Grand Rapids, Mich. : Regency Reference Library, ©1987
JPS Hebrew - English Tanakh by Call Number: Odegaard Undergraduate Library: ugref Suzzallo Reference; UW Bothell Reference borefBS895 .J4 1999 (1 copy, 1 available) Physical version at suzzallen Suzzallo and Allen Libraries: szref First Floor Reference; BS895 .J4 1999ISBN: 0827606567Publication Date: Philadelphia : Jewish Publication Society 1999
- Biblia Hebraica Quinta (BHQ)A new edition of Biblia Hebraica Quinta (BHQ), intended to succeed the Biblia Hebraica Stuttgartensia (BHS). The aim is to provide an edition with a completely new critical apparatus to the Hebrew (Masoretic) text, accompanied by a commentary volume in which the most difficult cases are treated.
- The Hebrew Bible: a translation with commentaryA new critical edition of the Hebrew Bible featuring a critical text and extensive text-critical introduction and commentary. Each book of the Hebrew Bible will be addressed in a separate volume, Trans. by Robert Alter
Hebrew Bible Dictionaries
A Bilingual Dictionary of the Hebrew and Aramaic Old Testament by Call Number: Suzzallo and Allen Libraries: szstx Stacks; PJ4833 .K62 1998ISBN: 9004112782Publication Date: Leiden : Brill, 1998
A Concise Lexicon of Late Biblical Hebrew by Call Number: Suzzallo and Allen Libraries: szstx Stacks; PJ4564 .H87 2014ISBN: 9789004266117Publication Date: Leiden : Brill, 2014
Dictionary of Basic Biblical Hebrew by Call Number: Suzzallo and Allen Libraries: szstx Stacks; PJ4833 .K37 2002ISBN: 9652204986Publication Date: Jerusalem : Carta, ©2002
The Dictionary of Classical Hebrew by Call Number: Suzzallo and Allen Libraries: szstx Stacks; PJ4833 .D53 1993 v.1-v.8ISBN: 1850755442Publication Date: Sheffield : Sheffield Academic Press 1993-<2011>- ha-Entsiḳlopedyah ha-Yiśreʼelit la-Tanakh byCall Number: Suzzallo and Allen Libraries: szstx Stacks; BS440 .E56 1995 v.1-v.3Publication Date: [Ramat Gan] : |b Masadah : |b ʻAm ʻoved, |c ©1995
Hebrew and Aramaic Lexicon of the Old Testament by Call Number: Suzzallo and Allen Libraries: szstx Stacks; PJ4833 .K64 1994 v.1-v.5ISBN: 9004097007Publication Date: Leiden :; EJ Brill, 1994-2000
The Hebrew and Aramaic Lexicon of the Old Testament by Call Number: Suzzallo and Allen Libraries: szstx Stacks; PJ4833 .K6413 2001 v.1-v.2ISBN: 9789004124455Publication Date: Leiden : Brill, <2001->)
Hebrew-English Lexicon of the Bible by Call Number: Suzzallo and Allen Libraries: szstx Stacks; PJ4833 .H4 1975ISBN: 0805204814Publication Date: New York : Schocken Books, 1975
Reference Works, Hebrew Bible
The Masorah of Biblia Hebraica Stuttgartensia by Call Number: Suzzallo and Allen Libraries: szstx Stacks; BS718 .K38 1998ISBN: 0802843638Publication Date: Grand Rapids, Mich. : WB Eerdmans ©1998.- Oxford encyclopedia of the Bible and gender studies byPublication Date: Oxford ; |a New York : |b Oxford University Press, |c [2014]
A Simplified Guide to BHS (Biblia Hebraica Stuttgartensia) by Call Number: Suzzallo and Allen Libraries: szstx Stacks; BS715 1977eISBN: 0941037355Publication Date: N. Richland Hills, TX : BIBAL Press 1995.This is a revised edition of a classroom guide for students learning to read the Hebrew Bible. It contains a simple discussion of the masoretic tradition, the critical apparatus of BHS, the Masora, the accents, unusual letters and other markings."
- BIble HubA toolkit for biblical studies which provides an atlas, concordance, dictionaries, Strong's numbers, and parallel translations
- Biblica Patristica's BIBLINDEXAn index of early Jewish and Christian literature, searchable by biblical reference - from Biblica Patristica's published volumes and unpublished archives
- Parallel PlusParallel versions of the Bible from TheBible.org
- Resource Pages for Biblical StudiesWeb portal to resources in early Christian and biblical studies
- Society of Biblical LiteratureResources for research, writing papers, and studying biblical literature
Christian Bibles
The Bible : Authorized King James version by Call Number: Suzzallo and Allen Libraries: szstx Stacks; BS185 1997 .O94 1997ISBN: 0192830996Publication Date: Oxford : Oxford University Press 1997
The New Oxford Annotated Bible with the Apocrypha by Call Number: Suzzallo and Allen Libraries: szstx Stacks; BS191.5.A1 2010 O94 2010 (also in Suzzallo Reference)ISBN: 0195289552Publication Date: Oxford [England] ; New York : Oxford University Press, ©2010- New American standard Bible.Call Number: Odegaard Undergraduate Library: ugstx Stacks; BS195 .N35 1973aPublication Date: New York ; Cleveland : Collins World, ©1973.
The Complete Parallel Bible : containing the Old and New Testaments with the Apocryphal/Deuterocanonical books : New Revised Standard Version, Revised English Bible, New American Bible, New Jerusalem BibleCall Number: Suzzallo and Allen Libraries: szstx Stacks; BS125 1993ISBN: 019528318XPublication Date: New York : Oxford University Press, ©1993
The Parallel Apocrypha : Greek text, King James Version, Douay Old Testament, the Holy Bible by Ronald Knox, Today's English Version, New Revised Standard Version, New American Bible, New Jerusalem Bible by Call Number: Suzzallo and Allen Libraries: szstx Stacks; BS1692 1997ISBN: 0195284445Publication Date: New York : Oxford University Press, 1997.- The Holy Bible : New international version, containing the Old Testament and the New Testament.Call Number: Odegaard Undergraduate Library: ugstx Stacks; BS195 .I57 1978 (Also in Suzzallo Rerence and OUGL Reference)Publication Date: Grand Rapids : Zondervan Bible Publishers, ©1978.
The Jerusalem Bible by Call Number: Suzzallo and Allen Libraries: szstx Stacks; BS195 .J4 1966 (Also OUGL Stacks, Suzzallo Reference)ISBN: 9780232483840Publication Date: Garden City, N.Y., Doubleday, 1966.
Concordances
Hebrew/Aramaic Index to the Septuagint : keyed to the Hatch-Redpath concordance by Call Number: Suzzallo and Allen Libraries: szstx Stacks; BS1122.H32 M87 1998ISBN: 0801021456Publication Date: Grand Rapids, Mich. : Baker Books, ©1998
The Hebrew English concordance to the Old Testament : with the new international version by Call Number: Suzzallo and Allen Libraries: szstx Stacks; BS1121 .K65 1998ISBN: 0310208394Publication Date: Grand Rapids, Mich. : Zondervan Pub. House, ©1998.
Websites
- ALHATORAH.ORGSite that allows parallel views of multiple versions of text plus research on the Hebrew Bible