Skip to Main Content
Select Libraries are open. Online resources and support are available 24/7! Please see our COVID-Update page for reopening dates and hours starting in September. UW Libraries COVID-19 Updates
Encyclopedias and Dictionaries
Dictionary of the Bible by
Publication Date: Oxford ; New York : Oxford University Press, 2009
This is an authoritative and accessible guide to the books of the Bible, containing information about important places and personalities. It also aims to expound the Bible's themes, customs and doctrines.
Encyclopaedia Judaica by
Publication Date: Farmington Hills, Mich. : Thomson Gale ; Detroit : Macmillan Reference USA, 2007
Includes more than 21,000 entries on Jewish life, culture, history, and religion, written by Israeli, American and European subject specialists.
Encyclopedia of Christianity in the United States by
Publication Date: Lanham, Maryland : Rowman & Littlefield, 2016
From the founding fathers through the present, Christianity has exercised powerful influence in America-from its role in shaping politics and social institutions to its hand in art and culture. The Encyclopedia of Christianity in the United States outlines the myriad roles Christianity has played and continues to play. This masterful multi-volume reference includes biographies of major figures in the Christian church in the United States, documents and Supreme Court decisions, and information on theology and theologians, denominations, faith-based organizations, immigration, art-from decorative.
Encyclopedia of Islam and the Muslim world by
Publication Date: Farmington Hills, Mich. : Macmillan Reference USA, a part of Gale, Cengage Learning, 2016.
This reference work includes articles on the history, religion, cultural practices, and political economies of Muslims from the seventh-century in West Asia to today's Muslim societies throughout the continents of Asia, Africa, the Subcontinent, Europe, and the Americas.
Encyclopedia of religion by
Publication Date: Detroit : Macmillan Reference USA, 2005
This second edition, which is intended to reflect both changes in academia and in the world since 1987, includes almost all of the 2,750 original entries -- many heavily updated -- as well as approximately 600 entirely new articles. It emphasizes religion's role within everyday life and as a unique experience from culture to culture.
Encyclopedia of the Bible and its reception.
Publication Date: Berlin : Walter de Gruyter, 2009-
"EBR offers a comprehensive and in-depth rendering of the current state of knowledge on the origins and development of the Bible according to its different canonic forms in Judaism and Christianity. At the same time, EBR also documents the history of the Bible's reception in Judaism and Christianity as evident in exegetical literature, theological and philosophical writings of various genres, literature, liturgy, music, the visual arts, dance, and film, as well as in Islam and other religious traditions and contemporary movements."
Oxford encyclopedia of the Bible and gender studies by
Publication Date: Oxford ; New York : Oxford University Press, 2014
Extending the work of 19th and 20th century feminist scholarship and more recent queer studies, the Encyclopedia seeks to advance the scholarly conversation by systematically exploring the ways in which gender is constructed in the diverse texts, cultures, and readers that constitute 'the world of the Bible'. This comprehensive reference work reflects the diverse and interdisciplinary nature of the field and traces both historical and modern conceptions of gender and sexuality in the Bible.
Other Core Books, usually on Reserve in OUGL
HarperCollins Study Bible by
Call Number: BS191.5.A1 2006 S26 2006b
Publication Date: San Francisco, CA : HarperSanFrancisco, 2006
The HarperCollins Study Bible--Student Edition is the landmark general reference Bible that offers the full text of the New Revised Standard Version as well as in-depth articles, introductions, and comprehensive notes by today's leading biblical scholars for the Society of Biblical Literature. Completely revised and updated, this edition incorporates the latest scholarship and findings as well as incorporating new diagrams, charts, and maps--25% revised or new material.
How to Read the Bible by
Call Number: BS1171.3 .K84 2007
Publication Date: New York : Free Press, 2007
Scholars from different fields have joined forces to reexamine every aspect of the Hebrew Bible. Their research, carried out in universities and seminaries in Europe and America, has revolutionized our understanding of almost every chapter and verse. But have they killed the Bible in the process?
Jewish Literacy, revised ed by
Call Number: BM155.3 .T45 2008
Publication Date: New York : William Morrow, 2008
What does it mean to be a Jew? How does one begin to answer so extensive a question? In this insightful and completely updated tome, esteemed rabbi and bestselling author Joseph Telushkin helps answer the question of what it means to be a Jew, in the largest sense. Widely recognized as one of the most respected and indispensable reference books on Jewish life, culture, tradition, and religion, Jewish Literacy covers every essential aspect of the Jewish people and Judaism. In 352 short and engaging chapters, Rabbi Telushkin discusses everything from the Jewish Bible and Talmud to Jewish notions of ethics to antisemitism and the Holocaust; from the history of Jews around the world to Zionism and the politics of a Jewish state; from the significance of religious traditions and holidays to how they are practiced in daily life. Whether you want to know more about Judaism in general or have specific questions you'd like answered, Jewish Literacy is sure to contain the information you need. Rabbi Telushkin's expert knowledge of Judaism makes the updated and revised edition of Jewish Literacy an invaluable reference. A comprehensive yet thoroughly accessible resource for anyone interested in learning the fundamentals of Judaism, Jewish Literacy is a must for every Jewish home.
Hermeneia Bible Commentaries