Research Guides
- University of Washington Libraries
- Library Guides
- UW Libraries
- Sociology
- Data, Statistics & Polls
Sociology: Data, Statistics & Polls
An introduction to databases and tools for sociology research
Public Opinion Polls
- Roper iPoll This link opens in a new window
This link opens in a new window
Public opinion data from academic, commercial and media survey organizations.
UW-Licensed Data Sources
- Statistical Abstract of the United States This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Formerly a publication of the U.S. Census Bureau and now published by ProQuest, contains a "comprehensive summary of statistics on the social, political, and economic organization of the United States." - ProQuest Statistical Insight This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Provides statistical data from U.S. government publications from 1973, state and private sources from 1980, and international organizations from 1983 - Sage Data This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Social-science data and statistics from a variety of sources. - Social Explorer This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Social Explorer provides access to current and historical census data and demographic information. Lets users create maps and reports on demography and social change. - PolicyMap This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Online mapping with data on demographics, real estate, health, jobs and more in communities across the United States - SimplyAnalytics This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Create maps and tables of demographic, business, and marketing variables. (Formerly known as SimplyMap.)
Selected data sources
- Census ReporterFriendly interface for current U.S. Census data, including visualizations, data comparisons, tables, and GIS export
- DataCiteFind, identify, and uniformly cite existing research data from over 1,500 repositories.
- Data.gov"Data.gov provides descriptions of the Federal datasets (metadata), information about how to access the datasets, and tools that leverage government datasets."
- General Social Survey (GSS)A long running (1972-present) survey of social, cultural and political indicators.
- Inter-University Consortium for Political and Social Research (ICPSR)Archive of social science datasets.
- Seattle Open Data"Find, analyze, and download data published by [Seattle] City departments"
- UNESCO Institute for StatisticsAccess data and build your own statistical tables related to UNESCO's fields of action.
- World Bank DataFind 200+ country profiles, data by indicator (300+ available), data by source, and/or indicators by topic.
- Washington State County & City DataProvided by Office of Financial Management, provides data related to population, economy, and more.
- Business Data & StatisticsPage from the Foster Business Library's guide to business information sources.
More Data Guides from UW Libraries
Guides to Sociology Data on the Web
UW Resources
- Center for Statistics and the Social Sciences (CSSS)CSSS provides free statistical consulting to current UW faculty, staff, and students in affiliated departments.
- eScience InstituteUW's eScience Institute supports data-driven discovery in all fields by providing consulting services for researchers with data-oriented problems.
- UW Center for Social Science Computation & Research (CSSCR)Computer resource center providing research, statistics and data support for social science departments including Social Work.
- UW Center for Studies in Demography & Ecology (CSDE)Provides expertise and assistance in the choice and implementation of statistical methodology for demographic research.
- UW Libraries ResearchWorksThe ResearchWorks Service provides faculty, researchers and students with tools to archive and/or publish the products of research including data sets, monographs images, journal articles and technical reports.
Cite Data
Did you know? You must cite data, just as you would cite information in any other format. Below are some resources to help you cite your data.
If you would like others to cite your data, please contact the ResearchWorks Data Services Team about permanent identifiers for datasets.
- Citing DataGuide from MIT on how and why to cite data.
- Citing DataAdvice on citing data, from UW Libraries' Undergraduate Guide to Using Data