Art: Video

This guide offers the top recommended resources for Art, Art History, and Design.

Film

AVON - Academic Video Online This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Contains over 70,000 documentaries and films.
Silent Film Online This link opens in a new window Streaming video collection covers silent features, serials, and shorts from the 1890s to the 1930s.
- This link opens in a new window
New World Cinema: Independent Features and Shorts, 1990-Present This link opens in a new window Award-winning features and short films from leading independent distributors.
- This link opens in a new window
Asian Film Online This link opens in a new window Interdisciplinary collection of narrative feature films, documentaries and shorts curated by film scholars and critics.
- This link opens in a new window
Filmakers Library Online This link opens in a new window A collection of award-winning documentaries in the humanities and social-sciences.
- This link opens in a new window

EAI's Educational Streaming Site This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
The EAI database features streaming video art, media art, digital art, and performance art from some of the most influential artists of the 20th and 21st centuries. Provides access to around 3,000 individual works.

Art & Architecture @ Films on Demand
Content covers a wide variety of subjects, from Anthropology to World Languages. The UW Libraries has licensed 100+ titles including some in Art and Architecture.
The Arts @ Kanopy
This collection from Kanopy contains a mix of documentaries and popular films related to the arts includind dance, film studies, literature, and more.
UbuWeb
A large web-based educational resource for avant-garde material available on the internet, founded in 1996 by poet Kenneth Goldsmith. It offers visual, concrete and sound poetry, expanding to include film and sound art mp3 archives.
Art & Architecture in Video
Offers over 500 hours of documentaries and interviews illustrating the theory and practice of a variety of art forms and providing the context necessary for critical analysis.

Ontheboards.TV This link opens in a new window Streaming-video performances in contemporary dance, theater, and music.
- This link opens in a new window
Dance in Video This link opens in a new window Productions and documentaries by the most influential performers and companies of the 20th century covering ballet, tap, jazz, contemporary, experimental, improvisational, and modern concert dance. (Dance Online; Volumes I and II)
- This link opens in a new window

Music and Dance @ Films On Demand Content covers a wide variety of subjects, from Anthropology to World Languages. The UW Libraries has licensed 100+ titles including some in Music and Dance.
Chamber Dance Company Archive Watch modern dance classics performed by UW's own Chamber Dance Dance Company on the UW Media Center's YouTube channel.

Met Opera on Demand This link opens in a new window Streaming video of more than 500 Metropolitan Opera performances.
- This link opens in a new window
Medici.tv This link opens in a new window Streaming video of classical music performances including concerts, operas, ballets, documentaries, master-classes, and educational films.
- This link opens in a new window
Opera in Video This link opens in a new window Collection of 250+ operatic performances. (Music Online)
- This link opens in a new window

Shakespeare’s Globe on screen (2008-2015) This link opens in a new window Video of theatrical performances from Shakespeare's Globe Theatre.
- This link opens in a new window
Shakespeare’s Globe on screen 2 (2016-2018) This link opens in a new window Video of theatrical performances from Shakespeare's Globe Theatre.
- This link opens in a new window

Theatre in Video [UW restricted] Contains more than 250 definitive performances of the world's leading plays, together with more than 100 film documentaries, online in streaming video - more than 500 hours in all. This release contains 279 titles, representing hundreds of leading playwrights, actors and directors.
- This link opens in a new window
more...less...
Streaming video.

For information on using UW Libraries video and streaming media in classes, check out our Video & Streaming Video Guide.