Research Guides
- University of Washington Libraries
- Library Guides
- UW Libraries
- History : Britain & Ireland
- Primary Sources: UK by Type
History : Britain & Ireland: Primary Sources: UK by Type
A research guide to primary and secondary sources for British and Irish history.
Digital Book Collections
- Eighteenth Century Collections Online This link opens in a new window
This link opens in a new window
Collections of Reprinted Primary Sources
Many historical societies in Great Britain reprint regional primary sources. Here are a selection available in print at the UW Libraries and online. See English Regional History and Record Societies for a complete listing of organizations & publications.
Images
Government Documents
Major collection:
- House of Commons Parliamentary Papers This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- English Reports
- This link opens in a new window
News and Magazines
For contemporary newspaper coverage (roughly since 1990) see the e-Newspapers guide.
Major collections:
- Guardian 1821-2003 & Observer 1791-2003
- This link opens in a new window
- Times of London 1785-2014
- This link opens in a new window
- 17th-18th Century Burney Collection Newspapers This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- Economist Historical Archive
- This link opens in a new window
- Entertainment Industry Magazine Archive This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- Gerritsen Women's History Collection of Aletta H. Jacobs This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- Humanities & Social Sciences Index Retrospective This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- London Review of Books
- This link opens in a new window
- Trench Journals and Unit Magazines of the First World War This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- Wellesley Index to Victorian Periodicals, 1824-1900 This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Letters & Diaries
To find published letters and diaries available at the UW Libraries search UW Libraries Search using the terms: correspondence or diaries