Research Guides
University of Washington Archives: Student Life & Alumni
title
 UW student Lorraine Lowder showing
Seattle Star newspaper, ca. 1940.
Special Collections, UW Libraries, UW19966x.
|
What is a Collection Guide (Finding Aid)? Collections of unpublished personal papers, organizational records, and historical photographs are described and inventoried in detailed guides known as finding aids. A finding aid helps the researcher to identify boxes or folders of interest that may be retrieved from the stacks for study. Prepared by the staff, the typical finding aid provides background information on the organization, person, or family who created the papers or photographs, an overview of the collection and its arrangement, and a detailed container list. Not all of our finding aids are currently available online. If you don't see what you are looking for, please be sure to check with Reference Services for assistance. Physical Resources available for viewing in the Special Collections Reading Room include:
|
Related Links and Guides
- University of Washington Campus PhotographsPhotographs reflecting the early history of the University of Washington campus from its beginnings as the Territorial University through its establishment at its present site on the shores of Lake Washington. The database documents student activities, buildings, departments, and athletics.
- University of Washington Student Newspapers ArchiveA pilot project to provide access to digital facsimiles of the student newspapers published at the University of Washington's three campuses over time. These papers are the historical records of each campus as seen through the eyes of the students, faculty, and staff who contributed to each issue.
- University of Washington Yearbooks and DocumentsThis collection contains University of Washington student yearbooks from 1900 to 1994. (Please note: Not all years are available online. Visit the Special Collections Reading Room to view all printed copies.)
About the Collection
University Archives holdings include documentation that illuminates the daily activities and special events of students at the University of Washington as well as the alumni organization and its affiliate chapters.
These files may encompass personal correspondence and student scrapbooks of a substantive nature; biographical material, including vitae; bibliographies, press releases, and records of student organizations; photographs of activities and social / athletic intramural events; films, audio, and video records of student performances, group projects or exhibitions; records and minutes of student government and administrative committees; diaries, notebooks, appointment calendars of student leaders, and memorabilia that reflect student life.