Research Guides
Records of the University of Washington held by the University Archives are identified as having permanent historical, research, administrative, legal, and/or fiscal value. They exist in diverse formats, such as photographs, negatives, slides, motion picture film, maps, prints and drawings, microfilm, audio and video materials, CDs, and electronic records.
Collections of University records held in the Archives are described in our Collection Guides (Finding Aids) database, along with the other archival and manuscript holdings of Special Collections. Use the "Refine by keywords" search box to search for records by department, discipline, names, and other keywords. Not all of our collection information is available online. If you don't see what you are looking for, please be sure to check with Special Collections reference staff for assistance.
For University of Washington Offices
The Archives uses an Excel spreadsheet template form for submission of records transfer requests. Save a copy of the form using this link and give it a new filename: Records Transfer List template (MS Excel).
This PDF sample copy of the template gives some examples of ways to fill in the form but is not meant to be prescriptive.
After you have completed the form, email a copy to the University Archivist at the address below. Archives staff will contact you with any questions and to make arrangement to collect the records from you.
Please contact the University Archivist if you have any questions:
John Bolcer, University Archivist
(206) 685-2352
jdbolcer@uw.edu
For University of Washington Faculty and Staff
The personal papers of individual University of Washington faculty, administrators, and staff are also accepted for inclusion in the University Archives. Ideal candidates would be individuals who spent a significant portion of their careers at the University of Washington, or whose material would add to the collected history of the University. For further information, contact John Bolcer at the above contact information.