Skip to Main Content
All Libraries are open with limited hours. Masks required, no eating allowed. Online resources and support are available 24/7 UW Libraries COVID-19 Updates
Yale Journal of Criticism
Yale Journal of Criticism "The Yale Journal of Criticism publishes works of interest to readers in the humanities, irrespective of field or period, including scholarly articles, original art, review essays, polemical interventions, and conference and symposium papers". Coverage from 1996 - 2005.
The official journal of Modernist Studies Association (MSA), this journal focuses from approximately 1860 to the mid-twentieth century, taking an "interdisciplinary approach linking music, architecture, the visual arts, literature, and social and intellectual history".
A review of contemporary criticism.
Postmodern Culture PMC
PMC "offers a forum for commentary, criticism, and theory on subjects ranging from identity politics to the economics of information."
TC: A Journal of Biblical Textual Criticism
Electronic journal focuses on Jewish and Christian biblical texts. Offers articles in scripts of original languages, archives, bibliography, and links to textual criticism.
Theory & Event
Quarterly theory journal offers essays, book reviews, and archives.
Cyber Review of Modern Historiography (CROMOHS)
Italian electronic journal that focuses on historiography from the fifteenth century to the present; it pays particular attention to the relationship of technology to historiography. Available in Italian and English with access to archives.
The Medieval Review
Formerly the Bryn Mawr Medieval Review, this e-journal loads quickly, offers archives access, and offers its reviews via e-mail subscription. Eugene Vance of the University of Washington is on its advisory board.
Journal devoted to Medieval studies.
CTheory: Theory, Technology, Culture
Weekly international journal edited by Arthur and Marilouise Kroker. Contains relatively short articles by writers such as Kathy Acker and Alan Shapiro. Provides back issue access. Also available by e-mail.
CLCWEB: Comparative Literature and Culture, a WWWeb Journal
Peer-refereed quarterly publishing scholarly articles in comparative cultural studies, "a contextual approach in the study of culture in all of its products and processes."
Major E-Journal Collections
The following collections of electronic journals include comparative literature-related titles.Though these collections can be searched, the best way to identify journal articles on a given topic is to use the databases listed under the Find Articles tab.
Back issues of more than 100 major history journals including American Historical Review and the Journal of Military History. Select Advanced Search beneath the main search bar. Scroll down and under Journal Filter, select the subject areas you wish to search.
Current volumes of more than 30 journals including the Journal of Social History and Civil War History. A helpful starting point is the Research Areas tab, though you can also select specific journals using the Journals tab.