Comparative Literature: Bibliographies and Indexes

Electronic Bibliographies

Oxford Bibliographies
Offers peer-reviewed annotated bibliographies on specific topics in a growing range of subject areas. There are at least 50 specific topical bibliographies in each subject area. Each of these features an introduction to the topic. Bibliographies are browseable by subject area and keyword searchable.
Annual Bibliography of English Language and Literature (ABELL)
Sources related to English language and literature, 1920 to present.
MLA International Bibliography
Indexes critical materials on literature, languages, linguistics, and folklore. Proved access to citations from worldwide publications, including periodicals, books, essay collections, working papers, proceedings, dissertations and bibliographies.
Index Islamicus
Index to literature on Islam, the Middle East and Muslim areas of Asia and Africa, and Muslim minorities elsewhere. Includes citations to over 2,000 journals, conference proceedings, monographs, and book reviews from 1906 to present.
Bibliography of Asian Studies
References western-language books, articles, and book chapters on all parts of Asia. 1971 to present.
Handbook of Latin American Studies
Online bibliography combines citations for humanities and science works selected by scholars. Searchable in Spanish and English.
Biblioteca Classica Selecta (BCS): Une introduction bibliographique aux etudes classiques
Jacques Poucet authors this Belgian site. Contains vast subject bibliographies on classical studies.
Literary Resources - Ethnicities and Nationalities
Jack Lynch's index to web resources covers Native American, Jewish, and other multicultural literary sites.

Bibliographies and Indexes

F. Baldensperger and W.P. Friederich. Bibliography of Comparative Literature. 1950. University of North Carolina Studies in Comparative Literature. Vast enumerative bibliography divided into four "books." Subdivisions include motifs, country, literary history, and individual authors. Also issued in 1960. Located in Suzzallo & Allen Libraries Stacks. (Z 6514. C7 B3)

Betz, Louis-Paul. La Litterature Comparee, Essai Bibliographique. Orginally published in 1904. Reprint 1969 by First Greenwood Reprinting, New York. Early twentieth century bibliography enumerates continental literature. Emphasizes reciprocity and difference among national literatures. Located in Suzzallo & Allen Libraries Stacks. (Z 6514.C7 B6 1904a)

Dyserinck, Hugo and Fischer, Manfred S. Internationale Bibliographie zu Geschichte und Theorie der Komparatistik. 1985. Published by Hiersemann - Verlag, Stuttgart. Enumerative bibliography arranged chronologically has much narrower focus than Baldensperger & Friederich. Contains author and subject index. Covers international books and serials. Located in Suzzallo & Allen Libraries Stacks. (Z6514.C7 I6 1985)

Gibbs, Donald A. A Bibliography of Studies and Translations of modern Chinese Literature, 1918-1942. 1975. Harvard University Press. Located in East Asia Library Reference, Suzzallo & Allen Libraries Stacks, and Odegaard Stacks. (Z3108.L5 G52)

H. W. Wilson Company. Bibliographic Index. 1942. New York H. W. Wilson Co. Annual bibliography of bibliographies by subject. Selective coverage, great cross-referencing. Topics not restricted to literature - good tool for any comparatist. Coverage from 1937/42 - 2011. Located in Suzzallo & Allen Libraries Stacks (Z1002 .B594)

Keill, Norman. Psychoanalysis, Psychology, and Literature: a Bibliography. 1982. The Scarecrow Press, Inc. Resource includes two main volumes, a separate title, author, and subject index and a supplement for 1990. Located in Suzzallo & Allen Libraries Stacks. (Z6514 P78 K53 1982)

Lawson, Alan [et al]. Post-colonial Literatures in English: general, theoretical, and comparative, 1970-1993. 1997. Published by Prentice Hall International. Located in Suzzallo & Allen Libraries Stacks (Z2000.9 P67 1997)

Rela, Walter. A Bibliographical Guide to Spanish American Literature: Twentieth Century Sources. 1988. Greenwood Press. Annotates resources published from 1945 forward. Organized by genre and then by country of origin (e.g. History and Criticism of Chile). Preface cites earlier significant bibliographies. Located in Suzzallo & Allen Libraries Stacks. (Z1609.L7 R438 1988)

Thompson, George A., Jr. Key Sources in Comparative and World Literature - An Annotated Guide to Reference Materials. 1982. Frederick Ungar Publishing Co. Pages 266 to 305 are particularly helpful for bibliographic materials for non-European literatures. Good introductory resource. Located in Suzzallo & Allen Libraries Stacks. (Z 6511 T47 1982)

Williams, Mark. Post-colonial Literatures in English: Southeast Asia, New Zealand, and the Pacific, 1970-1992. 1996. Published by G.K. Hall. Located in Suzzallo & Allen Libraries Stacks. (Z3008.L58 W55 1996)