Research Guides
- University of Washington Libraries
- Library Guides
- UW Libraries
- Hellenic Studies
- Country Profiles & Encyclopedias
Hellenic Studies: Country Profiles & Encyclopedias
Country Profiles & Encyclopedias
Country profiles provide brief overviews including some coverage of politics, history & economy; many also include some statistical information. Encyclopedias and dictionaries provide background information and can be used to identify key people, events and dates which can then be used as search terms for finding additional information. Many also provide a jumpstart on your research by listing related readings.
Two online encyclopedia collections: Gale Virtual Reference & Oxford Reference Online
Country Profiles
- Europe : An Encyclopedia of Culture and Society: Greece
This link opens in a new window
- Countries and Their Cultures: Greece
- This link opens in a new window
- OECD Economic Survey: Greece
- This link opens in a new window
- Worldmark Encyclopedia of the Nations: Greece
- This link opens in a new window
Encyclopedias
- All Things Ancient Greece: An Encyclopedia of the Greek World
- This link opens in a new window
- Encyclopedia of the Byzantine Empire
- This link opens in a new window
- Gods, Demigods and Demons: An Encyclopedia of Greek Mythology
- This link opens in a new window
- Greek Revolution: A Critical Dictionary
- This link opens in a new window
- Historical Dictionary of Modern Greece
- This link opens in a new window
- Modern Greece
- This link opens in a new window
- Oxford Dictionary of Byzantium
- This link opens in a new window
- Oxford Encyclopedia of Ancient Greece and Rome
- This link opens in a new window
- World of Ancient Greece: A Daily Life Encyclopedia
- This link opens in a new window
Handbooks & Companions
Handbooks and companions are good resources for finding literature reviews, in-depth background about a topic, and often a summary of the state of scholarship in the field. These are just a few of the handbooks related to Greece.
- Bloomsbury Handbook of Plato
- This link opens in a new window
- Cambridge Companion to Ancient Athens
- This link opens in a new window
- Companion to Greek Art
- This link opens in a new window
- Companion to Greek Warfare
- This link opens in a new window
- Oxford Handbook of Ancient Greek Law
- This link opens in a new window
- Oxford Handbook of Greek and Roman Slaveries
- This link opens in a new window
- Oxford Handbook of Modern Greek Politics
- This link opens in a new window
- Routledge Handbook of Women and Ancient Greek Philosophy
- This link opens in a new window