Research Guides
History : Ancient: Encyclopedias
A research guide to primary and secondary sources for ancient history.
Encyclopedias help you figure out the who, what & where of a topic. Knowing the who, what & where of a topic is the first step in researching a topic and discovering the "how" and "why". Encyclopedias and dictionaries can provide background information and can be used to identify key people, events and dates which can then be used as search terms for finding additional information. Many also provide a jumpstart on your research by listing related readings.
Two online encyclopedia collections: Gale Ebooks & Oxford Reference Online.
Quick Info: Encyclopedias
- All Things Ancient Greece: An Encyclopedia of the Greek World
This link opens in a new window
- All Things Ancient Rome: An Encyclopedia of the Roman World
- This link opens in a new window
- Ancient Europe, 8000 B.C. to A.D. 1000: Encyclopedia of the Barbarian World
- This link opens in a new window
- Conflict in ancient Greece and Rome: the definitive political, social, and military encyclopedia
- This link opens in a new window
- Encyclopedia of Ancient Battles
- This link opens in a new window
- Encyclopedia of the Roman Army
- This link opens in a new window
- Grove Encyclopedia of Classical Art and Architecture
- This link opens in a new window
- Herodotus Encyclopedia
- This link opens in a new window
- Oxford Classical Dictionary (ORE)
- This link opens in a new window
- Oxford Dictionary of Byzantium
- This link opens in a new window
- Oxford Dictionary of Late Antiquity
- This link opens in a new window
- Oxford Encyclopedia of Ancient Egypt
- This link opens in a new window
- Oxford Encyclopedia of Ancient Greece and Rome
- This link opens in a new window
- Oxford encyclopedia of archaeology in the Near East
- This link opens in a new window
- Roman Empire: A Historical Encyclopedia
- This link opens in a new window
- Tacitus Encyclopedia
- This link opens in a new window
- Warfare in the Roman Republic: From the Etruscan Wars to the Battle of Actium
- This link opens in a new window
- World of Ancient Rome: A Daily Life Encyclopedia
- This link opens in a new window
- World of Ancient Greece: A Daily Life Encyclopedia
- This link opens in a new window
Very Short Introductions
- Alexander the Great: A Very Short Introduction
- This link opens in a new window
- Ancient Assyria: A Very Short Introduction
- This link opens in a new window
- Ancient Egypt: A Very Short Introduction
- This link opens in a new window
- Ancient Egyptian Art and Architecture: A Very Short Introduction
- This link opens in a new window
- Ancient Greece: A Very Short Introduction
- This link opens in a new window
- Ancient Greek and Roman Science: A Very Short Introduction
- This link opens in a new window
- Ancient Near East: A Very Short Introduction
- This link opens in a new window
- Ancient Philosophy: A Very Short Introduction
- This link opens in a new window
- Ancient Warfare: A Very Short Introduction
- This link opens in a new window
- Aristotle: A Very Short Introduction
- This link opens in a new window
- Babylonia: A Very Short Introduction
- This link opens in a new window
- Byzantium: A Very Short Introduction
- This link opens in a new window
- Classics: A Very Short Introduction
- This link opens in a new window
- Etruscans: A Very Short Introduction
- This link opens in a new window
- Hellenistic Age: A Very Short Introduction
- This link opens in a new window
- Herodotus: A Very Short Introduction
- This link opens in a new window
- Homer: A Very Short Introduction
- This link opens in a new window
- Late Antiquity: A Very Short Introduction
- This link opens in a new window
- Ovid: A Very Short Introduction
- This link opens in a new window
- Plato: A Very Short Introduction
- This link opens in a new window
- Roman Britain: A Very Short Introduction
- This link opens in a new window
- Roman Empire: A Very Short Introduction
- This link opens in a new window
- Roman Republic: A Very Short Introduction
- This link opens in a new window
- Socrates: A Very Short Introduction
- This link opens in a new window
- Spartans: A Very Short Introduction
- This link opens in a new window
- Trojan War: A Very Short Introduction
- This link opens in a new window
Handbooks & Companions
These books provide a survey of the state of research about a topic or region, historiography or concise overviews. These are just a selection of handbooks related to ancient history.
- Brill's Companion to Ancient Macedon
- This link opens in a new window
- Brill’s Companion to Cassius Dio
- This link opens in a new window
- Cambridge Companion to Ancient Athens
- This link opens in a new window
- Cambridge Companion to the Ancient Greek Economy
- This link opens in a new window
- Companion to Ancient Egypt
- This link opens in a new window
- Companion to Ancient History
- This link opens in a new window
- Companion to Ancient Macedonia
- This link opens in a new window
- Companion to Archaic Greece
- This link opens in a new window
- Companion to Assyria
- This link opens in a new window
- Companion to Byzantium
- This link opens in a new window
- Companion to Late Antiquity
- This link opens in a new window
- Companion to North Africa in Antiquity
- This link opens in a new window
- Companion to Roman Britain
- This link opens in a new window
- Companion to Roman Italy
- This link opens in a new window
- Companion to Sparta
- This link opens in a new window
- Companion to the Achaemenid Persian Empire
- This link opens in a new window
- Companion to the Etruscans
- This link opens in a new window
- Companion to the Punic Wars
- This link opens in a new window
- Companion to the Roman Republic
- This link opens in a new window
- Oxford Handbook of Hellenic Studies
- This link opens in a new window
- Oxford Handbook of Late Antiquity
- This link opens in a new window
- Oxford Handbook of Pre-Roman Italy (1000--49 BCE)
- This link opens in a new window
- Oxford Handbook of Roman Studies
- This link opens in a new window
- Oxford Handbook of the Bronze Age Aegean
- This link opens in a new window
- Oxford Handbook of Warfare in the Classical World
- This link opens in a new window
- Routledge Handbook of Classics and Queer Theory
- This link opens in a new window