Research Guides
History : Medieval: Encyclopedias
A research guide to primary and secondary sources for medieval history in Europe and the Mediterranean basin.
Encyclopedias and Other Reference Works
Encyclopedias help you figure out the who, what & where of a topic. Knowing the who, what & where of a topic is the first step in researching a topic and discovering the "how" and "why". Encyclopedias and dictionaries can provide background information and can be used to identify key people, events, and dates which can then be used as search terms for finding additional information. Many also provide a jumpstart on your research by listing related readings.
Encyclopedia Starting Points: Brill's Medieval Reference Library, Gale Ebooks & Oxford Reference Online.
Encyclopedias: Quick Info
- Brill's Encyclopedia of the Middle Ages
This link opens in a new window
- Encyclopaedia of Medieval Dress and Textiles
- This link opens in a new window
- Encyclopedia of Medieval Literature in Britain
- This link opens in a new window
- Encyclopedia of medieval pilgrimage
- This link opens in a new window
- Encyclopedia of the Medieval Chronicle
- This link opens in a new window
- Encyclopedia of the Middle Ages
- This link opens in a new window
- Lexikon des Mittelalters & International Encyclopaedia of the Middle Ages (LexIEMA)
- This link opens in a new window
- Medieval France: An Encyclopedia
- This link opens in a new window
- Medieval Iberia: An Encyclopedia
- This link opens in a new window
- Medieval Islamic Civilization: An Encyclopedia
- This link opens in a new window
- Medieval Jewish Civilization: An Encyclopedia
- This link opens in a new window
- Oxford Dictionary of Byzantium
- This link opens in a new window
- Oxford dictionary of the Middle Ages
- This link opens in a new window
- Oxford Encyclopedia of Medieval Warfare and Military Technology
- This link opens in a new window
- Vikings: An Encyclopedia of Conflict, Invasions, and Raids
- This link opens in a new window
- Wiley Blackwell Encyclopedia of Anglo-Saxon England
- This link opens in a new window
- Women and Gender in Medieval Europe: An Encyclopedia
- This link opens in a new window
Handbooks & Companions: In Depth Info
These books provide a survey of the state of research about a topic or region, historiography or concise overviews.
- The Cambridge Companion to Bede
- This link opens in a new window
- Companion to Byzantine Science
- This link opens in a new window
- Companion to Byzantium
- This link opens in a new window
- Companion to Chivalry
- This link opens in a new window
- Companion to Lollardy
- This link opens in a new window
- Companion to Medieval Rules and Customaries
- This link opens in a new window
- Companion to the Anglo-Norman World
- This link opens in a new window
- Companion to the Global Early Middle Ages
- This link opens in a new window
- Companion to the Medieval World
- This link opens in a new window
- Oxford Handbook of Byzantine Studies
- This link opens in a new window
- Oxford Handbook of Medieval Central Europe
- This link opens in a new window
- Oxford Handbook of Medieval Christianity
- This link opens in a new window
- Oxford Handbook of Women and Gender in Medieval Europe
- This link opens in a new window