Research Guides
History : Native American: Articles
A research guide to primary and secondary sources for Native American history.
Find Articles on Native American History
America History & Life is the best database to use when looking for academic journal articles in the field of Native American history.
- America: History & Life with Full Text This link opens in a new windowBest database to articles written on American & Canadian history including indigenous history
- Bibliography of Indigenous Peoples in North America This link opens in a new windowCovers all aspects of North America's indigenous history, culture & life
Link your search terms using the AND connector. For example: native americans and protests. On the search results screen, use the options on the left toolbar to narrow your search results. To find the fulltext of the article (if not provided directly in the database), click on the "Check for Full Text" button and work your way through the screens. Not all articles will be online, some may only be in print, others may not be available at the UW. Articles from journals which the UW does not own can be requested via Interlibrary loan.
Keep in mind that when searching for articles dealing with Native Americans that America History & Life uses a number of terms including names of specific peoples (e.g., Makah) and reservations (e.g., Standing Rock Indian Reservation), etc.
Other Useful Databases
Additional Help
Additional Help:
- How do I search in Academic Search Complete? The search screen is similar to America History & Life and Historical Abstracts so searching information is similar.
- How do I find full-text articles in Academic Search Complete?
- What does the “Request Article” button mean? This shows you how to request an article scan when we do not have the full text on an article.