Disability Studies: Scholarly Journals and Books

Scholarly Article Databases

Academic Search Complete This link opens in a new window
Scholarly articles and general interest sources in all fields.
Web of Science This link opens in a new window
Citation index for the sciences, social sciences, and arts and humanities.
CINAHL Complete This link opens in a new window
Literature in nursing and allied health disciplines, 1937 to present.
PsycInfo This link opens in a new window
Academic, research, and practice literature in psychology and related disciplines, 1872 to present.
History of Disabilities: Disabilities in Society; Seventeenth to Twentieth Century This link opens in a new window
Books, manuscripts, and ephemera that provide a historical view of disabilities from the seventeenth to twentieth century. Trial access ends March 31, 2025.
Disability in the Modern World This link opens in a new window
Interdisciplinary collection of primary documents, periodicals and video resources.
ERIC (EBSCO) This link opens in a new window
Education-related literature, from pre-K through adult education.
PAIS Index This link opens in a new window
Social and public policy literature from periodicals, government documents, books, and other sources.
Social Services Abstracts This link opens in a new window
Articles on social work, community development, and related topics.
Social Work Abstracts This link opens in a new window
Journal articles in social work and social welfare.
Sociological Abstracts This link opens in a new window
Journal articles in the field of sociology, including international literature and other related disciplines.
Human Rights Documents This link opens in a new window
Wide variety of documents from hundreds of non-governmental organizations concerned with human rights and social justice around the world.
Public Health Archives: Public Health in Modern America; 1890-1970 This link opens in a new window
Documents the rise of the twentieth-century public health system in the United States through correspondence, reports, pamphlets, ephemera, and more. Trial access ends March 31, 2025.

UW Libraries Search

Selected titles

Below are a few journals devoted to disability studies. Journals in other subject areas also publish articles on disability issues (philosophy, art, economics, etc.) To search across many journals at once, use one of the databases from the "Scholarly Articles Databases" list on the right.